P is for Photos

Lewis Hine, Library of Congress

Lewis Hine, Library of Congress

What an exciting plus for the genealogist or family historian to come upon photographs of ancestors!

A story recently published in the Charlotte Observer displayed this iconic 1908 photo by Lewis Hine and told the story behind the discovery of her identity. The unknown girl looking out of the Lincolnton Textile Mill window was identified by author and historian, Joe Manning, who spent 5 years going through the Hine portfolio and identifying those in the photos. The steps he took to discover this particular girl’s identity are interesting, but I wanted to highlight the final piece to the puzzle:

Manning took [pictures of a possible match for the little girl as an adult] to Maureen Taylor, a face-recognition expert he’d relied on in the past. Taylor, called the nation’s foremost historical photo detective by the Wall Street Journal, said the faces matched perfectly.

How many unidentified photos are lying around in boxes in your attic or closet? Bring them out and show them to relatives to help with the ID process. Always try to document who is who in photos so later on, when YOU are not around to identify them, they won’t be unknown and thrown away. And if you’re really stumped, ask Maureen Taylor for help!

related links:

For more information on historian Joe Manning’s search for the identity of the girl in the Lewis Hine photo, go to www.eightsteeples.com/blanton1.html.

Original story found here

MaureenTaylor.com

Family Vignette

P is for Parkee, her photograph and poetry.

I didn’t know my husband’s grandmother, “Parkee” (Clara Horne Park), so I appreciate getting to know her through this lovely photo of her with her son, Gordon, and through her poetry:

“I love poetry–for the feeling of bigness in the world that it reveals…for the imagination it stirs within me…I love every poet who inspires the feeling of greatness within me–who fires my determination to excel. I am a better person for having been able to share another’s thought, to catch his heartbeat in his creation…I love poetry for the lift it gives me toward the infinite.”

[“Inspiration : Intro to Poetry of Clara Horne.]

Clara (Horne) Park with son, Gordon circa 1913

Clara (Horne) Park with son, Gordon circa 1913

Poverty
By Clara “Parkee” Park
 
I know they say it’s poverty;
It may be, of a kind;
I haven’t much that looks like wealth,
But I don’t seem to mind.
 
For roses bloom around my door,
And far as I can see
Trees and flowers are everywhere
And robins sing to me.
 
And one day as I wrote my lines
I had a taste of bliss.
A child peeked in my open door
And wafted me a kiss.
 
And I can hear and laugh and feel
And think and talk and see
And walk a mile of highland, so–
It can’t be poverty. 

This post is part of the A-Z Challenge 2014

About gapark

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Creative Writing, Family, Genealogy & Family History and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to P is for Photos

  1. wordstock16 says:

    Fascinating story on the photo. My cousin found a box filled with old photos. We’ve identified a lot of them, some of my great grandmother. She was pictured with a man I didn’t know but found later that it was her second husband. Without the picture, I wouldn’t have understood the census report so it was very important. The poem is lovely and it can’t be poverty. She was rich beyond words.

  2. melinda says:

    Fabulous picture, and also an excellent poem. How wonderful that you have these!

  3. I am lucky that I have pictures going back to my great-great grandmother. Some people don’t have any.

  4. What a lively poem and a beautiful woman. Thank you for sharing a piece of our heritage!

  5. Aditi says:

    What a wise and beautiful poem! I love seeing old photographs and right now I have my grandparents around to tell me whose-who in those black n white photos but good point to note the names and the year down. I’ll try and get around to doing this! Thanks!

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

