Mathematical law of reverse weights and measures

So, I’ve already admitted that math/numbers is not my forte, but this just baffles me: I fought the battle of the bulge since last September when I got serious about nutrition in an effort to lower my cholesterol. The Formula goes like this: there are 3,500 calories in a pound. My goal was to have a negative Energy Balance of 500 calories a day, resulting in a weight loss of 1 pound/week. (energy Balance is the number of calories consumed minus the number of calories expended.)  I managed, through cutting out (and I mean really cutting out) desserts/sugar, ramping up the fruits/veggies, and burning over 500 calories/day in rigorous exercise, to lose 14 pounds in 7 months (more math: that’s 2 pounds/month or a reasonable, if less spectacular 1/2 pound a week). Then yesterday, I decided to eat a cookie….(ok, maybe 5 cookies…but I’d been deprived for so long and these were sooo good!) And…you guessed it! Gained almost 2 pounds in one day!! And the Universe laughed. By the way, if anyone is interested in that cookie recipe, I’ll share the love.

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Fitness, Health & Wellness, Life Lessons. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mathematical law of reverse weights and measures

  1. Vanessa says:

    yea… i just don’t weigh myself every day and it all balances out. I dislike the cookie ups and downs. Not good for morale. hahah. I think you are doing great!!!

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

