Balancing Act

We go to the lodge every morning at 6:00 to exercise before going to work. Everyone else there is retired…why do they come so early??? The other day I walked in and 3 of the 4 treadmills were in use, so I quickly staked my claim by putting my iphone, headphones and water bottle on the last available machine before putting my gear in the locker room. When I came back out, a diminutive Asian man was standing near the foot of “my” treadmill, stretching, as if he was about to step onto it. I moved around him, hopped on, and began my workout. Yes, just like when you pull ahead of a parking space to back in, and someone pulls into it behind you…I was that person. I didn’t even say anything to him, like, “I already called ‘dibs’ on this…” He walked away and got on a stationary bike. So, my workout was ruined as I stewed about my bad behavior. I thought I had a chance to redeem myself, when a woman came over to the fan that was running in front of me and took it away to place in front of her treadmill.  I didn’t say anything, though I was thinking indignant thoughts (“What am I, chopped liver??”). She then looked at me like she just realized what she’d done and asked, “Do you want to share this? I can put it in the middle and set it to oscillate…” But I said, “No, I’m here to sweat, you take it,” thinking my magnanimous gesture would redeem me from my previous rudeness. It didn’t. *sigh*. I was going to have to apologize.  By now, Little Asian Man had gone into the locker room. I waited, my eyes on the door, for him to appear. When he did, I hopped down, went over to him and said, “I need to apologize for my rudeness in cutting in front of you earlier–that wasn’t very nice of me.” “No pwoblem…no pwoblem…”, he bowed. 

Every day, just gotta try to be a little bit better than the day before…
About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Fitness, Life Lessons, Spirituality and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Balancing Act

  1. Vanessa says:

    hahah – oh mom, you are hilarious. Poor diminunitive man. I’m with you though; you staked the claim. =)

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

