conflicted


I think of myself as a nice person–easy to get along with, kind…but lately, I have been annoying a lot of people…
First there was Asian Man at the treadmill. Next, my neighbor, one of the few in my neighborhood I’ve actually spent time cultivating a friendship with, isn’t speaking to me because I painted my house red. Seems she finds the color very jarring as she looks at it from her backyard. She can’t understand why I didn’t consult with her before choosing this color (I didn’t tell her there was no “choosing” about it–this was the only color I wanted). Then today, I was doing my morning run, jogging into my housing area, where the speed limit is 5 mph anyway, and I got angry gestures and facial expressions from a woman driver who indicated I should be up on the sidewalk. I guess she isn’t much of a runner or she would know that the cement sidewalk is way worse for joints than the asphalt road…
I’m trying to be nice, but I just can’t seem to please people these days.
(And BTW, isn’t my house absolutely gorgeous this color?!!)

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Half-full, Life Lessons, Synchronicity and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to conflicted

  1. I LOVE your house color. I think people are just more easily annoyed these days…you are the same sweet girl… I have noticed lots of people seem to be out of sorts lately. Too bad, life really is too short!

  2. Your house color is wonderful, but then I like houses with several colors like red. I also like Carolyn Siemers. Love ya Cherie

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

