Art for Art’s sake


If you were stranded on a desert island and could have only one painting….or, if you could choose from any painting to own (Impressionist, Old Master…no limits!), which would it be? This was a question posed in the book I just checked out called The Gentle Art of Domesticity: stitching, baking, nature, art & the comforts of home, by Jane Brocket (she actually phrased the question, “Which work of art would you happily steal?” but we are assuming there is a fairy god-mother involved here for our benefit…). I’ve been browsing the 700’s off and on all day and couldn’t decide–Vermeer? Wyeth? Monet? Then I saw a book of watercolors and decided my choice would have to be a watercolor, because I personally find that medium very difficult and admire those who can pull it off. I was impressed with the works of Xiaogang Zhu, and actually took a gouache class from him once here at Jubilee. Very Difficult. So I think I would like to own Zhu’s Red Umbrella over Arched Bridge (above) or his Waiting for Spring. Lovely. Which would you choose?

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Synchronicity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

