General Conference

Prophets, Seers & Revelators

General Conference runs for 2 days, with 2 general sessions (2 hours each) each day. Do the math: 8 hours of conference. With a beautiful sunny day on Saturday and no (other) obligations, Rich and I chose to hike up Mt. Si instead of staying home and listening to Saturday’s sessions. As a result, we had 8 hours of Conference to listen to on Sunday. We listened chronologically, and when we got to Saturday afternoon’s session, I clicked on the first talk, which was by Pres. Eyring. As soon as I realized it was “just” the sustaining of Church officers, I had the idea to skip it and move on to the next “real” talk. But before I did so, I heard the words, “It is proposed that we sustain Thomas Spencer Monson as prophet, seer, and revelator,” and I was immediately enveloped in a warm feeling of the Spirit. I knew that these men were called of God and truly were prophets, seers and revelators, receiving light and knowledge to guide us in these latter days. As tears pricked my eyes, I felt it a privilege to raise my hand to the square and sustain them as such, and listen carefully to their counsel. This was the most powerful manifestation of the Spirit I felt over the course of the whole 8 hours of Conference, and affected how I received all the other messages given.

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
Image | This entry was posted in Life Lessons, Spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

