Weekly Writing Challenge: Music

It was day three of our drive across country, from Upstate New York to our new home in Washington State. We were driving two separate cars, so I was alone as we made our way through Illinois, listening to a cd of the Mormon Tabernacle Choir. The song, “Peace Like a River,” began to play and as I heard the words, “I have love like a river…” I was overwhelmed with a feeling of love: love for my children and family, and feeling the love that my Savior, Jesus Christ, has for me. I felt in a very powerful way the meaning of the Atonement in my life. Tears started coursing down my cheeks and I could barely see the road in front of me. It was an emotional reaction to a song that I had heard many times before without such feelings. I can only attribute it to an opportunity God took to let me know of His love.

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
Link | This entry was posted in Family, Spirituality, Synchronicity, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Weekly Writing Challenge: Music

  1. Pingback: Dil Dil Pakistan | A mom's blog

  2. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Moved by Music | Writing Canvas

  3. Pingback: Weekly Writing Challenge: Moved by Music | life n me!

  4. Pingback: Once Upon A Time, We Were Invincible | Ramisa the Authoress

  5. Pingback: Drown it Out In A Good Tune | My Days In A Song

  6. elizabeth says:

    Beautiful!

  7. Pingback: of leaving « Anawnimiss

  8. Pingback: Meaning: The Prompt | The Daily Prompt Alternative

  9. I’ve had similar experiences with different songs. And then there are one or two that always move me in that way. What a blessing how God can use so many different things to speak to each heart just they way he knows they need at the time they need it.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

