Daily Prompt: Connect the dots: Bikini Kill

This is my first Daily Prompt, but one that appeals to my affinity for connections. I loved the show, Touch, with Kiefer Sutherland, about how we are all connected in some way. And I get excited when I find a “six degrees of Kevin Bacon” type connection with someone. It didn’t take long, however, to find in today’s paper this news brief that caught my eye.

It was a blip on the radar, perhaps only meaningful to a handful of people in the Pacific Northwest? Those who where into Punk music from 15-20 years ago? That certainly doesn’t describe me…I’m a Simon & Garfunkel and Moody Blues type; the hardest rock I ever listened to was Billy Joel…So I wouldn’t have even been familiar with the names ‘Bikini Kill’ or ‘riot grrrl’ a short time ago. But I recently hired a woman to work at the library who happened to be a member of Bikini Kill “back in the day.” So when I passed over this article and caught the names Kathleen Hanna and Bikini Kill in the title, I stopped.

It resonated with me on a couple of levels: First is the fact that I am connected with this previously foreign-to-me music scene, via my new connection with my co-worker. And second, the article goes on to tell of Kathleen’s ordeal with Lyme Disease, and her epiphany that life is short, and we can be taken at any time. So, Carpe Diem, and all that. It should be meaningful to each of us, each day, to reflect on our own mortality and choose to make the best use of our time. Who would have thought that a wake-up-call to make every day count would be found in an article on a Punk Singer?Image

(SHERVIN LAINEZ — Courtesy photo via The Olympian)

http://dailypost.wordpress.com/2013/11/08/daily-prompt-connection-2/

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, DP Challenge, Good Old Days, Serendipity, Synchronicity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Daily Prompt: Connect the dots: Bikini Kill

  1. Pingback: You’re a Few Days Late | Cheri Speak

  2. Pingback: Surfer Rob’s NaNo: just a little more than bite-sized | Rob's Surf Report

  3. Pingback: And in completely boring news… | Life as a country bumpkin...not a city girl

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Connect the Dots | GG's World

  5. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Connect the Dots | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  6. elizabeth says:

    How exciting Gail. I wasn’t into Punk anything either, but I’d love to have a chat with your Hannah over a cuppa. It was a completely other world to us (young) old foggies. And who would believe that a Punk Rocker would end-up working in a place so quiet and serene. Love her message.

    • gapark says:

      Actually it isn’t Hanna whom I hired but the drummer from bikini kill. I guess I was trying to preserve her anonymity a bit. 😉

      • elizabeth says:

        Sorry Gail, should have stuck with my first inclination to say, lady, but thought that seemed disrespectful. 🙂

  7. gapark says:

    No worries–it’s not like she isn’t still “out there” in the music scene. She actually has a Wikipedia page (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Tobi_Vail) and a music blog! (http://jigsawunderground.blogspot.com/)

  8. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Connect the Dots | BulgingButtons

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

