Gorey Hero

Gorey Hero

I love the work of Edward Gorey, and recently came across a book of his that I hadn’t previously seen: Thoughtful Alphabets: The Just Dessert and The Deadly Blotter. It inspired me to try my hand at an alphabet story. Here goes:

“A busy, crazy day exposes few gleaned hours invested joyously kinesthetic.  Languid movements need opportunity; perhaps questioning random senseless time-stealers uncover voluminous ways: eXercise your zen.”

[I felt I could cheat with the X, as Gorey, himself, does so in the Thoughtful Alphabets.]

Care to try? What’s your thoughtful alphabet story?

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
Image | This entry was posted in Books, Creative Writing, Favorites, Synchronicity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Gorey Hero

  1. knace says:

    I love Gorey too!! I have Amphigorey and Amphigorey Too. I had not seen Thoughtful Alphabets before either. I’m going to try it. =)

    • gapark says:

      I’d love to see what you come up with. I was introduced to Gorey at age 9 by my best friend at a sleepover at her house where I read The Wuggly Ump. That is still my favorite.

  2. knace says:

    Yours is really good. I honestly don’t think I can equal it. It might take me a few days just to come up with something. If I do, I’ll post it. =)

  3. knace says:

    Well I finally did my “story” I tried to link to your post but it doesn’t seem to be working. I’m going to try and fix that. In the meantime, Merry Christmas!

  4. Pingback: A Tribute To Gorey Alphabet Story « Love~K

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

