2013 Book List

The Boy with a Hat asked, “How many books have you read this year?” and it got me thinking…

My number is 36 and a half. The half is Anna Karenina, probably my only title that (my son-in-law) would classify as Literature, and I started it almost a year ago…

As I read my own list, I can see that this is a strange mix of titles, and feel like I need to explain myself, somewhat…

1. Many of these titles were have-to-reads–choices of the book discussion group, of which I am a moderator. I was pleasantly surprised to find some of my best reads in this category (Short Nights of the Shadowcatcher, Cleopatra, Unbroken, Crooked Letter Crooked Letter, Into the Beautiful North)

2. The Matched series I read as a result of attending PNLA in Boise this year, and listening to an address by the author, Ally Condie. As she spoke, I realized I knew her: several years ago we were members of the same church congregation. Got my daughter to read them along with me, for a great shared/bonding experience.

3. I was going for a shared experience with another son-in-law, who wanted to read Atlas Shrugged, but he quit before finishing. I really enjoyed it and ended up watching the movies as well (Hope they finish the series with a part 3 soon…)

4. Working in a library you get a) recommendations from people on what is “good” and several of these are those sorts; and b) you happen upon intriguing titles serendipitously when you are putting away books or seeing them come across the counter. Several more are in this category.

5. I haven’t read much non-fiction in the past, but this year I developed several new interests and read to learn more. (Running, nutrition)

6. A couple of these are favorite authors and I had to read their latest (Harlan Coben, Neil Gaiman)

What’s on Your List?

Non-Fiction

From Bagels to Buddha: How I found My Soul and Lost My Fat, By Judi Hollis

Dead Whispers: Ghostly EVPs, by A. E. Angel

Bossy Pants, by Tina Fey

The Vegetarian Myth: Food, Justice, and Sustainability by Lierre Keith

Fates Worse than Death, by Kurt Vonnegut

My Beef with Meat: The Healthiest Argument for Eating a Plant-Strong Diet, by Rip Esselstyn

Escaping Salem: The Other Witch Hunt of 1692, by Richard Godbeer

The Invisible Gorilla: And Other Ways Our Intuitions Deceive Us, by Christopher Chabris

Short Nights of the Shadowcatcher: the Epic Life and Immortal Photographs of Edward Curtis, by Timothy Egan

The Greater Journey: American in Paris, by David McCullough

Duel in the Sun: Alberto Salazar, Dick Beardsley, and America’s Greatest Marathon, by John Brant

Eat and Run: My Unlikely Journey to Ultra-marathon Greatness, by Scott Jurek

Cleopatra, A Life, by Stacy Schiff

Unbroken: A World War II Story of Survival, Resilience, and Redemption, by Laura Hillenbrand

Fiction

Crooked Letter, Crooked Letter, by Tom Franklin

The Ocean at the End of the Lane, by Neil Gaiman

Matched (Matched, #1), by Ally Condie

Crossed (Matched, #2), by Ally Condie

Reached (Matched, #3), by Ally Condie

The Perks of Being a Wallflower, by Stephen Chbosky

The School of Essential Ingredients, by Erica Baiermeister

Let it Snow, by John Green

The Fault in Our Stars, by John Green

Looking For Alaska, by John Green

The Evolution of Mara Dyer, by Michelle Hodkin

Return to Sullivan’s Island, by Dorothea Benton Frank

Sun Storm (Rebecka Martinsson #1), by Asa Larsson

The Leavenworth Case, by Anna Katharine Green

Six Years, by Harlan Coben

Look Again, by Lisa Scottoline

In the Woods, by Tana French

Girl in Translation, by Jean Kwok

Forever Odd, by Dean Koontz

Atlas Shrugged, by Ayn Rand

Into the Beautiful North, by Luis Alberto Urrea

Swamplandia! By Karen Russell

Anna Karenina, (1/2) by Leo Tolstoy

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Books, Family, Health & Wellness, Serendipity, Synchronicity and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2013 Book List

  1. vernette says:

    The Fault In Our Stars was the best book I read in 2013. I like this list!

  2. I need to read some of those….

  3. Sandra says:

    Some names there to add to my search list at the library when back in the UK. I read several Coben this year, and Forever Odd was one of my favourites – I’m a great fan of Koontz. Thanks for the information.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

