Good Day, Sunshine!

Thanks, Irene A Waters for my Sunshine Award nomination! Irene sees life’s glass as more than half-full, and writes heart-warming prose. I dare you to read Sammy saves the Day without being uplifted.  I am honored, and have taken a few days to respond so as to really take a look at who I would like to pass this on to. The following blogs have made a significant impact in making the world a sunnier place, so please visit them and take your time browsing their offerings.

Here’s the lowdown on the Sunshine Award:

To accept this award, the awardee must do the following:

  1. Display the Award on your Blog.
  2. Announce your win with a post and thank the Blogger who awarded you.
  3. Present 10 deserving Bloggers with the Award – “who positively and creatively inspire others in the blogosphere.”
  4. Link your awardees in the post and let them know of their being awarded.
  5. Write 10 interesting things about you

Hmmm. Ten? Really? Here are 10 things I like:

1. Essential Oils (I send a lot of $$ to DoTerra Oils every month, but it’s SO worth it!!)
2. My salad cut into small pieces
3. Very hot showers (my one weakness that is not eco-friendly)
4. A cat in my lap while I stroke its fur to make it purr
5. Being helpful
6. Running between 4-6 miles in temps between 38-60 degrees
7. Catching green lights
8. Most shades of green ( not especially fond of olive drab or camo)
9. The smell of fresh cut grass
10.The smell of the molasses grain we fed to our horses

Here are my nominees:

Gotta Find A Home

http://gottafindahome.wordpress.com/

This may seem like an unusual blog to nominate for the Sunshine Award, as Dennis tells the story of the homeless, bringing this subject to our attention that we may otherwise avoid or pretend we don’t see. But he by his very purpose, he brings a ray of sunshine to many people. Here’s a quote from his site:

I’ve been told not to give money to pan handlers because they’ll just spend it on booze. I thought to myself, “What should I do, if anything?” What would you do? I asked for advice from a friend who has worked with homeless people. She said, “The woman is probably hungry. Why don’t you ask her if she’d like a breakfast sandwich and maybe a coffee?”

That sounded reasonable, so the next day I asked, “Are you hungry? Would you like some breakfast, perhaps a coffee?”

“That would be nice,” she replied.

When I brought her a sandwich and coffee she said to me, “Thank you so much, sir. You’re so kind. Bless you.” I truly felt blessed.

Milford Street

http://milfordstreet.wordpress.com/

Christopher is a wonderful photographer, consistently interpreting the Daily Prompt with unusual and unique “takes.” They are upbeat and life-affirming.

Postcards Without Stamps

http://postcardswithoutstamps.wordpress.com/

Alicja’s postcards are her “ attempt at sharing…the world’s beauty and charm, it’s majesty and detail…” Her messages are upbeat, positive and bring a ray of hope and, yes, sunshine!

I Love Painting80

http://ilovepainting80.wordpress.com/

No matter what the hardship Meera is going through, she always has a positive outlook.

Doug Does Life

http://dougdoeslife.com/

Doug and John are an interesting team—they are “creative problem solvers, and creativity can be applied in most situations.” They are even “creative spiritual monkeys!”   Check out their blog for a fun look at creating the brighter side of life.

Shard of Silence

http://shardsofsilence.wordpress.com/

Vic Briggs is a very talented writer who is obsessed with Benedict Cumberbatch—what could be a sunnier topic than that!??

Square one Notes

Sandra writes poetry and inspirational “notes” that bring sunshine to the reader. Here’s an example of her latest:

Obnoxious worries

  Clutter the air

Obscuring my vision, hitting me in the face

I loosen my grasp

A slow smile creeps over my face as

Each one

Drifts

Silently

Away

RIP Means Return If Possible http://ripmeansreturnifpossiblebook.wordpress.com/

Liz writes a fictionalized account of “what if” she had one more day with her dad. Woven throughout are insights into her life as an Asperger and coping with loss. I include her blog for the Sunshine Award, because I see her as a great example of coping creatively and making lemonade out of life’s lemons.

Platypus Radio http://platypusradio.me/

Jen is an artist and illustrator whose work is creative, whimsical and colorful. Her art is like a ray of Sunshine!

Memories from the Kitchen

http://amintiridinbucatarie.wordpress.com/

Wow! So many mouth-watering delights here! And I am totally in awe of those who blog bilingually. Oana’s philosophy?  “I consider kitchen a smaller temple where miracles happen because food has the power of bringing people together.” What could be sunnier than that?!

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Awards, Essential Oils, Half-full, Synchronicity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Good Day, Sunshine!

  1. Thank you very much Gail, this award is filling my soul with happiness. Your kind word about my blog are the most beautiful reward. I will carefully pass this award on to other people I admire.
    Warmest regards, Oana 🙂

  2. vicbriggs says:

    Congratulations, Gail, and thank you for including me in your nominees. Hope your week gets to a sunny start. 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

