Chance Encounter

DSCF0055_2

“We are freezing out here…all I do is split, haul, and stack wood into my sunroom. If I don’t keep the wood stove going 24/7 the furnace kicks in every 20-30 min.”

This is an email I got from my 84-year-old mother in Upstate New York. She recently went to Lowe’s needing a 4×8 sheet of white panel bead board and trim to match her kitchen cabinets (don’t ask…another one of her do-it-yourself projects…). She asked the Lowe’s guy to cut the board in half so it would fit in her convertible. One piece did, two wouldn’t as there wasn’t enough room to let it lean, and it was about 4″ too long to be able to put it up straight and still be able to put the top up on the convertible. As she was struggling with the boards, trying to figure out what to do next, a 40-something guy approached her with a big grin on his face.
“How far do you have to go with the top down?” He asked.
“Ten miles.”
He said he was headed her direction and would throw her boards in his pick-up, follow her home and drop them off.

Mom says, “I am sure he thought I was kidnapping him as we wound through all the back roads of town, but true to his word, he delivered and unloaded them for me. If I had been in the store 3 minutes longer or he had his truck all loaded a few minutes earlier we wouldn’t have connected. Just goes to show you…a woman doesn’t have to be young and pretty to get a man to notice her! Being chubby, grey, wrinkled and in distress works just as well!”

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
Image | This entry was posted in Family, Serendipity, Synchronicity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Chance Encounter

  1. randee says:

    I think being chubby, grey, wrinkled, and in distress works much, much better! Your mother sounds like a hoot. I love her already.

  2. acuriousgal says:

    What a great story…your Mother is a beautiful charmer!!! How wonderful

  3. Anne L. Grant says:

    ah shucks folks thanks for comments…..just another French Irish farm girl who learned to work hard very early in life and it is hard to change ones character, believe me, every time we moved, (every five years or so for our 45 years of marriage) I vowed to try a new sophisticated, low key

    persona, more elegant but would always open mouth insert foot so I could never quite pull it off what you see is what you get is true I guess.

  4. elizabeth says:

    How cute! Your mom’s a star! 🙂

  5. Your Mom sounds fun, and yes, it is nice that there are people willing to just lend a hand just because they see a need.

  6. mrsprickett says:

    This is the best story ever. I now know what I want to be when I grow up. 🙂

  7. gapark says:

    Haha! Something to really aspire to, for sure!

  8. Tina Downey says:

    Hi Gail,
    Took me a while to track you down, but I don’t give up easily! I love this story.. LOVE IT. It’s just so Americana to me in some way.
    Thanks for your sweet comment at Life is Good today. I’d love to hang out with you too, and your amazing, convertible driving mother.
    Welcome to the Challenge, and please let me know if there’s anything I can do to help. Best of luck!
    Tina @ Life is Good
    A to Z Team @ Blogging From A to Z April Challenge 2014
    @TinaLifeisGood, #atozchallenge

    • gapark says:

      Yea, sorry–I’m not sure how to do the cross-over follow from my wordpress account to follow a blogger account. I used to use blogger but switched so my account doesn’t go to the updated site. Thanks for persevering! Gail

  9. Pingback: A is For Ancestor | Making Life an Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

