Top 10 (5-Eacher): Why I love being a Reader/Blogger

Betsy and Tacy

Betsy and Tacy

Top Ten Tuesday is hosted by the Broke and the Bookish. If you want to play along, post a link on their site to your blog post and then post a link to them from your blog.

Why I love being a reader:

1. “There’s a lot of talk about the tame world versus the wild world. It is not only a wild nature that we need as human beings; it is the untamed open space of our imaginations. Reading is where the wild things are.” (Jeannette Winterson in Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?)

2. “The Wider we read, the freer we become.” (Jeannette Winterson in Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?)

3. “Every Book is a message in a bottle.” (Jeannette Winterson in Why Be Happy When You Could Be Normal?)

[Can you tell what I’ve been reading lately??]

4. Reading aloud to my children has given me wonderful shared experiences that have brought us closer. (The Little Prince, A Wrinkle in TimeChildren of Green Knowe series, Corrie Ten Boom’s The Hiding Place,  Betsy-Tacy series…)

5. Reading expands my world to understand and learn of things I haven’t seen.

I never saw a moor,
I never saw the sea;
Yet know I how the heather looks,
And what a wave must be.

I never spoke with God,
Nor visited in heaven;
Yet certain am I of the spot
As if the chart were given.
--Emily Dickinson

Why I love being a blogger:

1. I’ve gotten to “meet” so many wonderful people I would not have known of any other way!

2. It is a creative outlet for my thought processes.

3. It is a place for me to document all of the extraordinary events in my life that I like to refer to as “God winks” or synchronicity.

4. It’s a way for me to share what I know with others, and to learn from them.

5. It’s an awesome experience to be a part of this blogging community and join in challenges that stretch my abilities. Blogging is a wonderfully satisfying activity!  

pooh

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Books, Family, Life Lessons, Travel and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Top 10 (5-Eacher): Why I love being a Reader/Blogger

  1. Ellie M. says:

    Those are really awesome points! I totally agree with you 😀

    My Top Ten this week!

  2. I love Jeannette Winterson 🙂

  3. I love how you used quotes for your list! Blogging is also a creative outlet for my ideas and thoughts about reading.

  4. Jemima Pett says:

    Those are really great reasons, Gail. Thanks for listing them. Also thanks for joining the A to Z Challenge this year – I’m looking forward to your theme reveal 🙂

    Jemima
    #TeamDamyanti
    A to Z Challenge Theme Reveal Blogfest – sign ups now open!

  5. Cassie says:

    I love that you put quotes with your answers. Reading expands my world too and I love sharing it with my students everyday. Great list.

  6. I hear you. Reading and blogging … world-expanding and affirming. … Blogging has also helped me find my voice. 😉

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

