Sweet Dreams

Dad with his little buddy, Vanessa

Dad with his little buddy, Vanessa

My best dream was short as well as sweet. It was a few months after my father passed away. I dreamed I saw him, dressed in white and smiling. He spoke to me and assured me he was ok, and happy. I hugged him and as tears coursed down my cheeks, I awoke, sobbing. (Just recounting this right now is causing my eyes to prick with tears again, and he has been gone now for almost 19 years.)

In a more recent “sweet” dream, I was eating a sugar cookie. Sweet? Not so much! I am trying to stay away from sugar and have been sugar-free since January first! In my dream the cookie didn’t even taste good and I felt really bad for breaking my streak. I woke up and was relieved to know it was only a dream and my streak was intact!

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Daily Prompt, DP Challenge, Family, Spirituality, Synchronicity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Sweet Dreams

  1. auntyuta says:

    This happens to me quite often that I feel bad in a dream and when I realize that it was only a dream, I feel very relieved. I find it difficult to recall any dreams where I felt really good. What does this mean, I wonder.

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) | Chronicles of an Anglo Swiss

  3. Pingback: Sweet Dreams | Alexia Jones

  4. Pingback: Daily Prompt – Sweet Dreams – Can almost touch the clouds |

  5. Dina says:

    Dreams are great therapists, aren’t they?
    Big hug, Dina

  6. seeker says:

    That is a beautiful dream to treasure.

  7. Pingback: Until then… | Daily Prompt: Sweet Dreams | Ireland, Multiple Sclerosis & Me

  8. elizabeth says:

    What a beautiful dream you had Gail.

  9. Sandy says:

    O.o I long for dreams like this. When you’re missing loved ones who passed away, it’s like a treat to be with them even in dreams. I dreamed of my grandmother recently, she was my favorite person. She’ll always be in my heart.

    XOXO

  10. What a beautiful dream about your father. And the cookie one sounds stressful but a bit amusing in hindsight.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

