Writing Challenge: Golden Years

Write…a synopsis of your memoir. What are some significant milestones in your life? Which age was the best, and which was the worst?

For this challenge, I was reminded of a book I ran across called, Not Quite What I was Planning: Six-word memoirs by writers famous & obscure.”

So here are the milestones of my life, in 6-word memoirs:

  • Idyllic childhood: “You can be anything!”

  • Pre-teen  dream realized: my own horse!

  • Teen angst assuaged by spiritual conversion.

  • Marry a soldier! Travel the World!

  • Four chicks flown: new adventures await.

When I was roaming the back streets of our small town on my bicycle, with my detective partner, Sara, by my side, I was comforted by my dad’s words that I could be anything I wanted to be. An uninformed boy in my class had insisted that “Girls can’t be detectives.” My view from the present affirms my dad’s words as prophetic, for I am now a detective indeed–searching for clues in old documents to find my elusive missing-persons ancestors!

As far as which age was the best/worst, I truly cannot say, for I wouldn’t change any part of my life. It all adds up to who I am today, and that is just as it should be!

related links:

Collecting Dead Relatives

Tracing Family

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Books, Creative Writing, DP Challenge, Family, Good Old Days, Life Lessons, Synchronicity, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Writing Challenge: Golden Years

  1. I like this idea Gail! Yes, a memoir to share with the kids and passed down as a heirloom of sorts. Thanks for sharing.

    LaTrice

  2. gapark says:

    Thanks for stopping by and for your comment. I hope even the “bad times” provide a positive message of “lessons learned!”

  3. Marci says:

    I love the idea of six-word memoirs! Kind of like mini-haikus, right? In the same vein, I just found a tumblr that consists solely of entries submitted by people who summarized their grad school dissertations or theses in one sentence. Some of it is hilarious, some is quite profound (www.lolmythesis.com). Anyway, thanks for the blogging idea, and I’m looking forward to your posts in the A to Z Challenge! Cheers, marci 😀

  4. Pingback: The Elders of Us | Wired With Words

  5. Pingback: Instant Investigations | Making Life an Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

