C is for Church Records

Image

For every birth, marriage and death record, there may also be a baptism, marriage and burial record to be found in church registers. Many of these types of records throughout the world have been photographed and stored on microfilm by the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints and are available free to the public at FamilySearch.org. [FamilySearch.org is my favorite genealogy database as well as the site where I store my own family tree, so you may see it referred to periodically in this series.] If you don’t find your location’s records here, you could write directly to the parish or church in the area and ask for any information in their registers  (a small donation helps!) If you don’t know the religious affiliation of your ancestor, you may have to try several denominations before finding the correct one. If you do find your ancestor’s parish, you could be in luck and be able to trace the whole family’s life through the baptisms, marriages and burials of its members.

Family Vignette: C is for Cooking!

So, what does a pressure cooker and spaghetti have in common? Turns out, nothing! At least back in the 1950s when my mom (yes, another Annie story…) was a new homemaker and didn’t have access to the internet and sites such Miss Vickie’s Pressure Cooker Recipes. She was looking for a quick means of getting dinner on the table for her soon-to-be-home-hungry hubby, and thought, “Why not cook the spaghetti in the pressure cooker to speed things up?” Why indeed?

Not satisfied with the speedy cook time, as soon as she saw the steam coming out of the pressure regulator, Annie removed it from the vent pipe to “cool it down faster.” The built-up pressure inside forced the pasta out through the vent at such velocity that it stuck to the ceiling! My dad came home to stalactite pasta hanging from the ceiling and several hours of work to scrape it all off and repaint.

Part of the A-Z Blogging Challenge

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Family, Genealogy & Family History, Good Old Days, Life Lessons and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

35 Responses to C is for Church Records

  1. wordstock16 says:

    What a great pasta story and one that made me laugh. Learning pressure cooker techniques is something we all go through although I never had to scrape pasta from the ceiling.

  2. gapark says:

    Mom’s misadventures have made me a bit gun-shy of the pressure cooker. I need to give it a try…

  3. Haha…your Family Vignette’s crack me up! Another great one! ‘Why indeed?”

  4. Thanks for giving me a laugh this afternoon….that story paints such a mental picture!!!

  5. vftmom247 says:

    “Stalactite pasta” …LOVE it! I’m wary of pressure cookers too, but adore crock-pots for easy cooking.

  6. I once had a similar accident with rhubarb. It was on my parents’ ceiling and I had been left in charge! Sue

  7. Deaf Mamma says:

    Hahaha, good one Gail. By the way India and Pressure Cooker has been married for as long as Indian cuisine goes. We can’t do without it. Pasta in P/C is definitely innovative.

    Lovely post.

    Best,
    Do drop in at The Sinhas at 302 in our motherhood journey.

    Thanks

  8. gapark says:

    How old were you?? At least these “disasters” provide for an amusing anecdote.

  9. Lynn Miclea says:

    Hahahahaha – I’m still laughing at this one! Loved it! 🙂

  10. I feel kind of bad for laughing at that story but LOL! That must have been a sight to see.

    ~Patricia Lynne~
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, YA Author

  11. Erica Gore says:

    Pressure cookers have terrified me ever since my aunty’s blew its lid off and showered the kitchen with assorted vegetables and meaty bits while I was helping her to lay the table for dinner. The dog thought it was fantastic and joined in the clean up with enthusiasm. It has left me with deep and abiding distrust of pressure cookers.

  12. lexacain says:

    I’ve had quite a number of mishaps in the kitchen, but I’m grateful I haven’t stuck spaghetti to the ceiling yet. LOL

  13. Angela Tague says:

    I really enjoy genealogy research too! Good tip about the church records!! ~ Angela, A to Z participant from Web Writing Advice (http://www.webwritingadvice.com/) and Whole Foods Living (http://wholefoodsliving.blogspot.com/)

    • gapark says:

      thanks for stopping by and leaving a comment. It reminded me to check out your post for the day. So much blog hopping this month sometimes I forget to revisit the sites that have me hooked! Just left you a comment on Dates. Yum!

  14. elizabeth says:

    Hilarious! 🙂

    thanks for the info. I love digging into old records.

  15. I had no idea spaghetti could do that! That is so awesome! Thanks for the advice on church records and what you can find.

  16. Haha! That’s a funny cooking story!

    anna
    Deeply Shallow

  17. Leslie says:

    These stories about your mother are awesome! I love it that she was trying to “hurry up” pasta faster than 8 minutes. LOL. Thank you for sharing:)

  18. jetgirlcos says:

    That is an awesome story! My mother had a pressure cooker and it always scared me a little, though I liked the roasts she cooked in it 🙂 Thanks for visiting my site, I’m happy to find yours. Great stories and information!

    jetgirlcos visiting via Forty, c’est Fantastique

  19. Tracy says:

    The pasta story is one for the ages!

  20. Love it! I’ve heard of pressure cooker lids blowing off the top of the pot and hitting the ceiling. Having heard about that, I have never felt the need to use one….

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

