10 Thankful Things

2014-04-08 13.26.33

I’m thankful this week for all the wonderful things I’ve learned from fellow bloggers!

1. The meaning of many British colloquialisms that have addled my brain for some time, from Tizzy over at Creative Therapy. like Treacle, and Tippex and Stroppy…

2. New items for my Travel Bucket from the lovely family over in the Chicken Coop. They made Pinnacle Mountain and Horse Cave, KY look so enticing!

3. From Dorothy over at Musings of a Horse Mom I was given the breathtaking photo of a “broken” Palomino given new life. The energy in the photo and accompanying story inspired me to “wake up” my own life a bit and infuse it with excitement for life.

4. More “have to see” spots (Lave River Cave in Flagstaff!) from Randee at A String of Pearls.

5. And to accompany all these travel plans, I got some great travel tips from Terri and James over at Gallivance.

6. Grateful for a link from Vic Briggs to an amazing YouTube tutorial on how to paint like the Old Masters by Sergey Gusev.

7. An interesting post from Lloyd Alter over at TreeHugger on the relationship between our exposure to light and our BMI started me on a new “habit” of getting outside  for at least 30 minutes once a day in the morning hours.

8. Grateful for a reminder from Don over at Life Reference to “Keep it Simple” when it comes to faith. Don says, “Simple faith is like a tree that grows in the wild.  It doesn’t try to impress anybody, it doesn’t worry about the latest fashions or how to climb over other people on its way up the corporate ladder.  All the tree does is live, grow and do what God intended for it.”

This time of year, we have some beautiful trees to consider and emulate–dressed in their best as they greet spring with blossoms and fragrance.

9. In that vein, of keeping it simple, Jazzy Beat Chick provided a simple yet powerful post of mindfulness that puts me in the right frame of mind to start this day and this week on the right track.

10. No Bake Vegan Almond Date Bars!!! Amazing! Tried them this week. Got the recipe from Sawsan over at Chef In Disguise.  She tweaked it from someone, and I tweaked hers (She lists “Date Puree” but doesn’t explain how to make that, so I winged it by mashing up 16 more dates, then supplemented with chopped green apples and a drop of cinnamon essential oil.) They are life changing–no refined flour, no sugar, raw, vegan…what’s not to love?!

Have a great week!

0e1e0-tenthingsbanner

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Favorites, Good Old Days, Half-full, Serendipity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to 10 Thankful Things

  1. Hello Gail 🙂
    Thank you for trying the date bars and for bringing it to my attention that I need to explain the date puree 🙂
    I updated the post with a few notes that I hope will help others who will attempt the recipe
    Really glad you enjoyed the date bars and thank you kindly for linking back to my post

  2. What a great idea for a TToT list! I have learned so much from blogging! A recipe here, a new friendship there (and there and there and there).

  3. Sammy D. says:

    Gail – thanks for such an uplifting post. As a new blogger, I’ve found one of the most “telling” moments was when I first wanted to give a shout-out link to a blogger who means something to me because I want other bloggers to know about her/him. That was the moment I understood and appreciated the “community” aspect of blogging. I look forward to visiting some of your recommendations.

  4. Maria Dunn says:

    Thank you for this. So nice to see thankfulness proclaimed and I appreciate the recommendations of other bloggers who have blessed you. I’m going to check them out. Be blessed, Maria from “http://delightdirectedliving.blogspot.com/”

  5. Phoebe says:

    Love this idea for a TToT! May need to “borrow” it sometime :).

  6. Hi Gail,
    What a wonderful way to be thankful and share the love. Thanks so much for linking to our post and introducing us to all these fascinating blogs. We immediately went to #2 because James grew up in Glasgow, Ky, just 15 miles from Horse Cave. And if you’re in that area for your bucket list, we thought you’d get a kick out of our post about sleeping in a wigwam in Cave City, just a few miles down the road.
    All the best, Terri & James
    http://gallivance.net/2012/09/08/roadside-americana-sleep-in-a-wigwam-3/

  7. randee says:

    Neat post. Love #8 – just the few words you included here. And I’m glad you really are putting Lava River Cave on your “have to see” list.

  8. skipcote says:

    I just realized that i followed so many links that i forgot to comment! !!

  9. vicbriggs says:

    I’m glad you enjoyed the tutorial, Gail and thank you for the mention. I’ve been chasing my characters all last week. Trying to up the pace as I’ve reached a key part of the revision process. Look forward to catching up with everything I’ve missed while away. Have a great week,
    V

    • gapark says:

      It was incredible! Not sure I can “paint like the Old Masters” now that I’ve seen it, but it was fascinating. Picked up some tips anyway.

  10. tizzypotts says:

    Hi Gail. Thanks so much for recommending my blog. I’m glad you found my British glossary useful. I’ll make sure to check out the other blogs on your list.

  11. Marie Abanga says:

    I love gratitude for it builds my fortitude 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

