Q is for Queries

Queries appear on Message Boards of various genealogical sites and are questions people pose in hopes that someone seeing it will have the answers they seek. Something like the Personals Column of a newspaper (“Seeking a fun-loving traveling companion who enjoys pina coladas and getting lost in the rain…”), these queries are most often about dead relatives (“Seeking the parents of Thankful Hopewell, who was born 1865 in Lancashire, PA”)

Message boards can be arranged by subject, locality or surname, and are archived, so even if you put out a query in 1995, someone in 2014 could stumble upon it and have the answer for you.

Family Vignette

We struck gold on my husband’s line when I put in his Italian ancestor’s surname into the message board on Genealogy.com and up popped this:

I have a database of about 8,000 names of most of the families of Petina, Italy that cover the period of early 1800s to 1900.
I would like to share my database or any part of it with anyone who is interested in the Petina families…I am trying to reach as many people as I can, so if you know of ANYONE that is interested give me there number/address or forward my info to them. ~Willard Haugen

This database, once received, moved my husband’s line back several generations! Willard tells me he has sent this database off to many many people over the years (he posted this in 2007 and I came across it in 2012) and I have thus far been the only one to fulfill his request to actually share with him the corresponding lines in my database that matched his names. Get some, give some, I say!

Related Links

Ancestry Message Board

Genealogy.com Message Board

Cyndi’s List Message Board

 

This post is part of the A-Z Challenge 2014

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Family, Genealogy & Family History, Synchronicity and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Q is for Queries

  1. wordstock16 says:

    Queries are very important. That’s how we found my husband’s missing family. Some of it is luck, some is other people searching and all of it is a gift that God gives us. Great post.
    http://yeakleyjones.blogspot.com/

  2. That is great you got somewhere and I love this bit you wrote too: (“Seeking a fun-loving traveling companion who enjoys pina coladas and getting lost in the rain…”) that sort of made me have a little chuckle, one could almost write a story just on the little notes people leave in newspapers for various things. Happy a-z blogging too how are you getting on with it?

    • gapark says:

      Things are going well on my end as I had all my posts pre-written by the end of March! Now I get to just sit back and blog hop, make comments, and reply to comments from visitors! Thanks for stopping by, I appreciate your visit! Gail

  3. Sammy D. says:

    Gail – loved your “looking for” personal ad – you’re so good at finding geneology matches, I think you could tun a side business writing personal ads and matching the lovelorns 🙂

    What a treasure trive that Itslian had!

  4. You can tell I’m a writer. When I saw the work query, I thought you’d be talking about writing a description of a book’s plot. ^^;;

    ~Patricia Lynne~
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, YA Author

  5. melinda says:

    Thanks so much for the links. I’ve already spent quite some time searching my grandfather’s last name (several possible spellings, but not many hits) and also my grandmother’s maiden name (many many hits!!). Lots of possibilities to follow up on. Looking forward to this!

  6. I wish I’d had all these resources when I was doing the bulk of my family research. Still lines to search, of course, but it’s not a priority right now. Amazing to have so much info available now. 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

