V is for Vital Records

Vanessa in her 60s outfit

“Vintage” Vanessa

Vital Records are the genealogist’s bread and butter. These consist of Birth, Marriage and Death records. They are (usually) accurate and authoritative, and each state or locality (usually) has mandated the recording of these events. If you read my ‘M’ post, you’ve seen an example of the inaccuracies that can occur in these “official” documents, but it is a great place to begin the foundation of your family tree.

Family Vignette : V is for Vanessa.

I have three stories about Vanessa. The first is the photo above, where “vintage” to Vanessa means the 60s. She grew up hearing me sing songs by  the Beatles, Billy Joel, The Beach Boys…She knows all the lyrics to all the “oldies.”

Second, Vanessa is extremely creative, energetic, enthusiastic. She was always coming up with games and activities for our family get-togethers, and often being the instigator for said get-togethers. One summer, in the midst of the Harry Potter craze (we read all the books together) she organized a Quidditch match for us in the back field. Another summer she planned an elaborate Survivor Game with challenges and clues. Here’s some of the clues we made up for the challenges:

Survivor Clues 

1.
To lead the blind is hard to do
Especially when there are lots of you.
Follow the leader, don’t trip up.
The winner has the fullest cup.
2.
Use strategy and keep your wits.
Choose your square, uncover it.
Don’t get boxed in, it’s hard to do.
Hope for the most, when you are thru.
3.
Amazing feats of daring do
Will be required of all of you.
Seek and you shall surely find.
Do it quick, or fall behind.
Good Luck!

My last story is heart-warming for me, as it’s something I’ve wondered and been concerned about for some time. Vanessa was hit with an “aha” moment of her own recently when she realized that when I and her mother-in-law are no longer around, the responsibility for doing the family genealogy will fall to her and her husband. It was a bit of a daunting thought, but then, she realized it would be an easy task, for I would be on the other side, guiding her along and pointing her in the right direction as her angel helper!

 

This post is part of the A-Z Challenge 2014

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Creative Writing, Family, Genealogy & Family History, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to V is for Vital Records

  1. melinda says:

    Lucky you! None of my kids are very interested in genealogy–they’re interested in hearing about it, but not in doing any of it themselves–so I’m pinning my hopes on my grandkids.

  2. gapark says:

    It is a concern. I’m grateful I have one who has expressed an interest. I think my other daughters also have an interest but not so much the time!

  3. I am interested in genealogy but it is so time consuming that I just don’t go searching anymore. Vital records are so important and can give us a lot of information.

  4. elizabeth says:

    You are blessed indeed! And so is Vanessa. Loved this post. 🙂

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

