W is for Wiki

New England Sampler © 2014 Gail Park

New England Sampler © 2014 Gail Park

The ultimate form of collaboration, sharing, and knowledge is the genealogy wiki. FamilySearch’s wiki is found here.  (“Get research advice, or learn where to find record collections in our 77,242 articles.”)

I recommend reading the About page first. Another worthwhile section to view is the one entitled, “Rookie Mistakes.”

I could browse this Wiki for hours! Enjoy!

Family Vignette

W is for Winnipesaukee

Lake Winnipesaukee in New Hampshire is where our family frequently vacationed. The water along Weirs Beach was shallow for long distances so we kids could wade out a ways and not be in too deep. Periodically we could see the large passenger ship MS Mount Washington cruise along in the distance. The lake was so huge to me it felt like an ocean. We usually went with another family–relatives or friends– for a week in the summer. Knowing what I now know about the rigors of camping with kids, it probably was much more enjoyable for us children than it was for mom, cooking over a camp stove all week and trying to keep us in dry/clean clothes!

This post is part of the 2014  A-Z Challenge.

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Family, Genealogy & Family History, Good Old Days, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to W is for Wiki

  1. wordstock16 says:

    I didn’t have a concept of a large lake until I visited Erie, PA. Our lakes are mostly man-made and can be walked around. As for camping, I still enjoy camping even if I do the cooking and the cleaning. I never tried to keep my kids clean or dry. It wasn’t worth it. Clean and dry is for home and if you’re camping at the beach, clean and dry is never an option. Thanks for the info on the Wiki’s. I plan to spend a long time checking them out.
    http://yeakleyjones.blogspot.com/

  2. I’ve been around large lakes all my life living in Michigan. It’s actually a weird idea to think of living somewhere not surrounded by water.

    ~Patricia Lynne~
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, YA Author

    • gapark says:

      My husband’s from California and I’m from Massachusetts. We’ve traveled a lot since our marriage and military career but when it came to settling down in retirement, we had to be on a coast! We are now in Washington State, and not right on the coast, but at least within an hour’s drive. I know what you mean. There is something soothing and compelling about living near water.

  3. melinda says:

    I’m going to bookmark the wiki’s too–and I agree, I never tried very hard to keep my kids clean when we were camping either. If showers were available, we used them, and if not, well, they usually swam enough to get sufficiently washed off. The only thing I insisted on was that they still religiously brush their teeth!

    • gapark says:

      That reminds me…as we were watching Survivor the other night I decided my one “Personal item” I’d take if I was on that show would be my toothbrush!

  4. It’s amazing how many memories can be made from one week, each summer, while growing up.

  5. Congratulations on this well done blog. Great information well worth the time your readers take to read you. Glad I found you in these final days of the #Challenge.

    • gapark says:

      Thanks, Stepheny. I’ve just spent some lovely moments perusing your garden of a blog! So glad this A-Z has gotten me around to finding gems like yours!

  6. I use wiki soooo much couldn’t live without it though i was told it is not a good source, but heck I still load it up x

  7. Pingback: Collaboration | Adventures in Career Changing

  8. Pingback: Collaboration - Adventures in Career Changing

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

