Z is for Zeal

We have a video recording of a family reunion back in the early 80s. At one point, I have lugged out my family history binders and am “entertaining” my kin with the fruits of my genealogical labors. My zeal is obvious, but so is the indifference of my audience, by the glazed-over looks and the obvious lack of any enthusiastic follow-up.

Genealogy can be addictive, an obsession to those who have been bitten by the genealogy bug; but there can be nothing more stultifying than listening to someone telling stories of ancestors you aren’t familiar with and don’t get the importance of learning about them.

I have at times referred to my genealogy habit as my best weight-loss tool, for when I am in the thick of the hunt, I don’t think of anything else (like dinner or diapers or time…) It’s a very Zen-like state!

That’s why I had to put aside my hobby for a few years, or at least not allow it to take precedence in my life.

To every thing there is a season, and a time to every purpose under the heaven~ Eccles. 3:1

But now, with kids grown and retirement looming on the horizon, I am once again a Genealogical Zealot!

Thank you for playing along with this A-Z Challenge. I hope you were able to gain some insights into the pursuit of one’s family history and have been entertained by some of my own family vignettes. Happy Hunting!

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Family, Genealogy & Family History, Life Lessons, Spirituality and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Z is for Zeal

  1. wordstock16 says:

    I have enjoyed all your posts because I share the same zeal. It’s true that we who track down ancestors tend to overshare our finds with those who are just not as interested. But, who know when we might spark an interest in someone who just hasn’t realized that family history and genealogy are not just a passion but a way to connect with the past and the future. I look forward to future posts. Thanks for commenting on my A to Z.

  2. Sammy D. says:

    Just because one isn’t interest now doesn’t mean he/she never will be. You obviously do this for your own reward, which is always best:-). I’ve so enjoyed our A to Z together, and look forward to springtime chats.

  3. Congrats on finishing the challenge. It was fun reading your posts.

    ~Patricia Lynne~
    Story Dam
    Patricia Lynne, YA Author

  4. melinda says:

    I’ve been inspired by your zeal. Before this month, I had never really tried to find my great-grandparents, but now I actually have hope that maybe one of these days I’ll actually find them. Thanks for sharing your journey!

  5. akaushiva says:

    Your zeal and zesr shows through all your posts and it is indeed quite addictive! I have to catch up on few of your posts too! You may see me quite a lot here! Glad I met you through this challenge! Congrats on a job well done!Aditi

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

