Meditation Musings

Been reading about the value of including meditation into one’s day, and have made a conscious effort to do so each morning. I began with 10 minutes and have thus far moved up to 20 minutes, with varying degrees of success. A book by journalist, Dan Harris (10% Happier: How I Tamed the Voice in My Head, Reduced Stress Without Losing My Edge, and Found Self-Help That Actually Works–A True Story), helped me to make sense of all the tips and suggestions I’d read, and encouraged me to not feel bad about the difficulty of keeping my focus on “the breath.”

As I sit on my bench under the wisteria, I have found it helpful to focus on the symbiotic relationship I have with the plants around me as I breathe: “In O2; Out CO2.” Now, after a couple of months, I am thoroughly enjoying the lovely bower of branches and leaves sheltering me and contributing to the serene start to my day.

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Books, Creative Writing, Health & Wellness, Life Lessons, Spirituality and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Meditation Musings

  1. timelesslady says:

    I enjoyed seeing your various views…my morning time of drawing near to God is the best part of my day.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

