Top 10 Favorite Heroines from Books

From my Secret Garden

Wisteria from my Secret Garden

It’s Top Ten Tuesday!

My top 10 heroines taken from my Goodreads, and not in any particular order.

1. Vianne Rocher from the Chocolate series by Joanne Harris. She lives in Paris and quaint French villages, is an expert at making chocolat, and does magic!

2. Corrie Ten Boom from her autobiography, The Hiding Place. She is such a role model for Christian behavior

3. Flavia de Luce from the eponymous series by Alan Bradley. Spunky pre-teen I wish I had been.

4. Jo March from Little Women by Louisa May Alcott. I pretended I was Jo when I was a pre-teen.

5. Anne Shirley from Anne of Green Gables by L.M. Montgomery. There are a few boys upon whose heads I wished I would have broken a slate back in the day.

6. Izzy Spellman from The Spellmans series by Lisa Lutz. Besides the drinking part, she is one cool private eye.

7. Elizabeth Bennet from Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen. Do I really have to explain this one?

8. Mary Lennox from The Secret Garden by Frances Hodgson Burnett. I wish I lived in an old English manor and found a key to a secret garden…

9. Kinsey Millhone from the alphabet mystery series by Sue Grafton. A down-to-earth detective I admire. (I like that she cuts her own hair with nail scissors, keeps one little-black-dress balled up in her VW for emergencies, and runs 3 miles every day.)

10. Elinor Dashwood from Sense and Sensibility by Jane Austen. Favorite scene: She finds out Edward is NOT actually married after all…

And if this was the top 12, there would probably be more of Jane Austen…

 

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Synchronicity. Bookmark the permalink.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

