A-Z Theme Reveal

Today is the day we reveal what our theme is for the April A-Z Challenge. I got the idea for my theme after reading a book entitled, Can’t and Won’t, Stories by Lydia Davis. Some of the stories were mere sentences, a few paragraphs, and I thought, “I can do that…”

So, I’ve entitled my theme, “Meditations, Memories and Musings” with the caveat that the “memories” portions may at times be akin to those described by  the White Queen in Through the Looking Glass:

“That’s the effect of living backwards,” the Queen said kindly: “it always makes one a little giddy at first —”
“Living backwards!” Alice repeated in great astonishment.”I never heard of such a thing!”
“— but there’s one great advantage in it, that one’s memory works both ways.”
“I’m sure MINE only works one way,” Alice remarked. “I can’t remember things before they happen.”
“It’s a poor sort of memory that only works backwards,” the Queen remarked. [Through the Looking-Glass, by Lewis Carroll, Chapter 5]

Given that the theme of my blog is Synchronicity, forward-looking “memories” shouldn’t be a surprise. See you in the (near) future!

Our “Alice”

 

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Synchronicity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to A-Z Theme Reveal

  1. You theme sounds very thoughtful, I look forward to seeing your posts during April. I hope the preparations are going well.
    Tasha
    Tasha’s Thinkings | Wittegen Press | FB3X (AC)

  2. Forward looking memories! Now that is really unique.

  3. Richard Park says:

    Enjoyed reading your blog entry. What do you think about putting photos of family members on the internet?

  4. Jemima Pett says:

    Sounds awesome – I’m really looking forward to this!
    Jemima

  5. shanayatales says:

    A very intriguing theme. Looking forward to your take on it. Good luck. 🙂
    -Shantala

    *Shantala @ ShanayaTales*

  6. Very well thought theme… Bets of luck

  7. Lisa says:

    That’s interesting about the stories being a few sentences or paragraphs. That could be kind of hard to do, keeping it very short and to the point!

    Lisa
    …Slow & Steady
    Tales from the Love Shaque

  8. orneryswife says:

    Love this!! sounds very fun, and I like the idea of remembering forwards! 🙂

  9. sharu4ever says:

    Such an interesting theme. Looking forward to read your backward memoirs! 🙂

  10. Really cute idea! I’m doing Musical Memories in the PAST, as much like Alice, I’m not sure my memory works in the present, let alone the future!
    I am Ensign B ~ One of Tremp’s Troops with the
    A to Z Challenge
    The Great and Powerful A to Z Theme Reveal

  11. Pingback: Apple Pie | Making Life an Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

