Apple Pie

A

Welcome to Day 1 of the A-Z Challenge! My theme is Meditations, Memories and Musings, mostly autobiographical, sometimes futuristic. Hope you enjoy your visit!

 

Sickness during the holidays sharply curtailed our celebrations and my son-in-law did not receive his one culinary request: apple pie. A few weeks into the new year they came over and I made an apple pie for him. I can’t eat apple pie, so it was purely a labor of love.


What is your love-language?2015/01/img_2383.jpg

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Family, Half-full, memories and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Apple Pie

  1. Setting a beautiful table with the correct placement of things, napkins folded correctly, a small gift at each place. Taking the time to do it right, which I hope translates to loving and caring for guests at my table. I can’t have your apple pie (GF) but it IS a gift of love I appreciate.

  2. Looks like a fab pie. Food is such a wonderful way to say you care 🙂
    Tasha
    Tasha’s Thinkings | Wittegen Press | FB3X (AC)

  3. Food is definitely a huge labor of love. With a family, it’s an everyday act of love; holidays, we amp it up further. Love your photo and thought of the day. Looking forward to more as we move through the alphabet. As a slimmer, I can’t eat much apple pie either but it sure is fun to look at.

  4. Food can definitely be a love language. Daddy always said he married Mama for her homemade buttermilk biscuits. I cook certain things a certain way for the people I love. Take Spaghetti: Hubby wants separate whole meat balls, sauce on the side. Daughter wants meat-sauce. Son prefers all cooked together in one pot. So, I’d cook spaghetti a different way each time.

  5. Labor of love makes the offering, whether food or otherwise, that much sweeter!

  6. Sara says:

    That pie looks beautiful! I’ve an avid baker but I’ve yet to tackle making a pie. It’s on my ‘to try’ list for this summer, once blueberries come into season at the U-Pick farms 🙂

  7. I definitely cook for those I love. I’ve always said that the most important ingredient in my cooking is love.

    I can’t help but be curious why you can’t eat Apple pie, sorry this is my first time to your blog so if you spoke of it before I didn’t see it.

    Happy A to Z’ing!

    Morgan,
    A Poet’s Kitchen
    Playing with Words
    StoryDam

    • gapark says:

      At the time I was eliminating both gluten and sugar to see what my “issues” were. Although I now know I can have the gluten, I try to keep it to a minimum, but I have made an effort to do without “added sugar” (I eat fruit and use honey and stevia in small amounts) for almost two years now and feel a lot better. Thanks for stopping by! I’ll return the favor shortly.

  8. Sabina says:

    Looks delicious!

  9. gapark says:

    It sure got eaten up quickly!

  10. Eve Gaal says:

    That looks like true love to me.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

