Cotton Candy

C

 

I am known among my family for my anti-sugar campaigns. At Disneyland with two grandchildren, I broke down and got them a cotton candy to share as recompense for talking them into the Tower of Terror ride. I didn’t want them eating so much of it though, and took a hunk as if to share with them, but tried surreptitiously to put it in a nearby trashcan instead. Six-year-old Chase caught me and frowned. When I tried it again, he gave me the stink-eye so instead of trashing it, I stuck it in my mouth. He came up to me, pinched my cheek and asked, “Are you my real grandma??”


What are you known for in your family circle?

 

Real Grandma

 

Day 3 of the A-Z Challenge!

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Family, Health & Wellness, Travel and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

32 Responses to Cotton Candy

  1. In the UK we call it candy floss. It is sold either on a stick or in a plastic bag. Nice to see you A to Z ing again this year, Gail. Sue

  2. The sticks of candy floss are much more fun than the plastic bags! That was really interesting – thanks for sharing! My post today is C for Cider With Rosie…. and Cats… ( I’m number 590 on the list) and so far enjoying the fun!

  3. Haha! Gotta love the things that come out of kids mouths sometimes. 🙂

  4. That’s a funny story! Kids wired on cotton candy at Disney – no thanks.

  5. LOL, I’m not anti candy with my kids or grandchild. I am anti them having all of it at one time or all the time. Would rather them eat homemade sweets than store bought. What am I known for in my family? Being goofy, loud, loving, cooking country meals, and meaning it when I say no.

  6. That made me laugh out loud! I too wish my granddaughters wouldn’t eat so much sugar and it is hard with so many outside temptations being shoved in their faces through advertising and in stores.

    Thanks for the laugh!

    Happy A to Z’ing!

    Morgan,
    A Poet’s Kitchen
    Playing with Words
    StoryDam

  7. Liz Brownlee says:

    That made me laugh – my two never had ‘candy floss’ as it’s known here, I never liked the idea of just sugar! No chews, either, but they were allowed chocolate. I mean, chocolate is a right. ~Liz http://www.lizbrownleepoet.com

  8. anneyoungau says:

    It Is ages since I had candy floss. I like it much better when it is freshly made on a stick. It is always too much sugar but the first few bits are terrific. A good idea to share and reduce the size of the serving. Thank you for the memories. Regards Anne at Ayfamilyhistory.blogspot.com

  9. nfhill says:

    I loved all things sweet when I was younger and now my dental bills show it! Great blog, glad to have found you as your blog is so a kindred spirit (per Anne Shirley) to the trend I am encouraging per my new blog, that being to: “Live Your Legacy Now!”

  10. Liz A. says:

    What am I known for? I guess I’m the family memory. “When did such-and-such happen?”

  11. Liz Young says:

    I’m known for making up stories about things we see along the lines of “Maybe he’s doing that because …” Their response is often “Don’t be silly, Nanny.” but sometimes they join in the make-believe.

  12. Sabina says:

    Whoops! Haha. I don’t like cotton candy much, but I remember loving it as a kid.

  13. Jean says:

    What happens at Disneyland stays at Disneyland!

    Jean, back from the Grand Tour and visiting for the A-Z Challenge from Rantings and Ravings of an Insane Writer Number 209 on the A-Z List.

    Jean Schara
    Blackbirds First Flight (Quin)
    Blackbirds Second Flight (Glaring Upheaval and Fluffy Malone)

    • gapark says:

      Thanks for stopping by. As to that saying, my daughters all make these Disney doings into a book for each kid, so everyone knows what went on!!

  14. stu06bloc9 says:

    Lol, candy floss always reminds me of my sister getting hers in her wispy fly away hair every year when the the fair came to town.

  15. gapark says:

    Nice image. I wonder if your sister remembers it that way as well?

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

