Endearments

E

 

Having family around during the holidays reminded me of something lacking in my relationship with Husband. My daughters and their spouses all have terms of endearment for each other, “Babe” being the predominant sobriquet of choice. We have never done that, yet it must be something Husband had also been struck by, as recently I heard, “Honey…Babe…what do you think about…?” Never too old to learn from one’s children, I guess, so….I “googled” Terms of Endearment and found this list. After some discussion and trying out a few (Sparky? Schatzi?) we ended up with the old stand-by, “Honey,” or “Honey-pie” (perhaps due to the Beatles tie-in?) with the caveat that it never morphs to “Hun.”

What do you call your significant other?

Me and My Honey

Me and My Honey

Day 5 of the A-Z Challenge!

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Family, Good Old Days, memories and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Endearments

  1. swathishenoy says:

    I am still single and so haven’t had a chance to use any endearment word for anyone yet 😉 But sweets and Hon are kind of my favorite 😉

    Entrapped

  2. monti7 says:

    I like “babe” because of the sound! Interesting post.

  3. Sabina says:

    I’ve never been a huge fan of terms of endearment. I’ve never had a boyfriend try to use any, nor have I ever called them anything besides their names. Who knows, maybe someday.

    • gapark says:

      I think you are either the “endearments” type or you’re not. It’s still a bit uncomfortable to me, so I’m probably in the “not” category.

      • Heather says:

        Endearments were really uncomfortable for me, but Simon creates new forms all the time that I don’t even notice and respond to practically anything. I’m sure to an outsider, half of them would seem completely wacky.

      • gapark says:

        That’s sweet!

  4. Hubby calls me goofy. And he usually means it in a sweet way. It stems from the common sense vs college education thing. I have called him many things over the years, (baby cakes for in the beginning),some not so endearing, but at this stage in our lives it is usually, Petie Pete.
    Life & Faith in Caneyhead
    I am Ensign B ~ One of Tremp’s Troops with the
    A to Z Challenge

  5. gwynnrogers says:

    Sadly, my husband is an EXTREME TYPE A++++ personality. He does not have a clue of what affection is. Endearment?????? 😉 Thanks for stopping by my blog.

  6. Birgit says:

    I call him Honey and sometimes “Hon” or Sweetie. I also call him Mr ADHD Man:)

  7. dyannedillon says:

    Before we were ever married, my husband started calling me Pudd. I call him Skippy (his name is David), because a girl he worked with called him that as a joke sometimes. It stuck.

  8. I call hubby “Sweetheart”; he calls me “Me darlin’ “. 🙂
    Now I’m going to see a couple more of your posts. Happy A to Z-ing!

  9. Marcy says:

    We’ve never really used terms of endearment. . . . it’s just always seemed somewhat awkward. Sometimes he refers to me as “huggy wife” and I’ll refer to him as “hubband” but when speaking directly to each other we usually just call each other by our given names, or a shortened version.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

