Instant Investigations

I

When I was in elementary school I had a detective agency with my best friend, Sara.  We roamed around our small town solving “crimes” and basically sticking our noses into other people’s business. I lost track of Sara when we went on to different middle schools but over the years I have thought about my bff detective partner and tried to locate her, but not knowing her married name, or even if she had married, I was at a disadvantage. A few months ago I tried again to find her and this time I got lucky, discovering her married name and town from her mother’s obituary. I made contact and a short time later we met up and got caught up on the 45 years that had passed since those idyllic days of youth. I guess I actually have become a detective after all!

Have you ever re-connected with a long-lost friend?

Detective Reunited

Detectives Reunited

Day 9 of the A-Z Challenge!

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Good Old Days, memories, Serendipity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Instant Investigations

  1. melinda says:

    Yes! I’ve reconnected with several long-lost friends through Facebook. One found me through Classmates, too. I’m glad you found your friend–gotta love technology!

  2. Petra says:

    Oh this is awesome! I have re-connected with a few friends from childhood but only via Facebook as I moved across the ocean.

    • gapark says:

      It’s really hard to stay connected once you move away from your childhood home. Technology is a start to reconnect, but it still takes effort after that to rekindle and develop friendships. That takes in person time, or phone calls. Much more effort!

  3. janntresham says:

    Thanks for dropping by my blog and giving me all those suggestions about what to do with all the eggs! I haven’t connected with a childhood friend, but several of my high school friends managed to find me on Facebook. I never know if I should accept friend requests because a lot of times I don’t remember the person requesting. On the other hand, blogging has brought me many new friendships including a group of women bloggers. We first met face to face four years ago and will get together again this October at a house we rent on Vashon Island for five days of writing, laughter, and eating….three of my favorite things.

  4. betty says:

    Oh how fun to have found your detective friend by using your own detective work to track her down 🙂 I have found a few friends from my youth, but found that the time that we were apart, we really didn’t have much in common after we reconected.

    betty

  5. Marcy says:

    How exciting to find your long lost friend! I’ve really enjoyed the days of facebook and reconnecting with old school friends that way. We had a high school class reunion last fall, and it was so much more enjoyable that earlier ones since I felt I knew so many of my classmates better after connecting with them on facebook.

  6. Pingback: I is for Investigator | Making Life an Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

