Missing

M

I once had a cat

Cookie was her name

When I called to her

She rarely came…

One day I called

And that was that–

I no longer

had a cat.

A few months went by,

Still filled with grief

Mom came to me–

the news brought relief

Seems a lost kitty

wandered into the grounds

at the New York World’s Fair;

Cookie was found!

adopted by workers

and now called “Mica”

She was happy and safe

Everyone liked her.

I was comforted to know

She was still alive

Though now looking back

It doesn’t quite jive

That my Cookie could travel

All that way

I now think Mom was

being kind that day.

Whatever the truth

It helped me then;

I’ll have to ask Mom…

when I see her again.

 

I was 8 years old when the 1964 World’s Fair opened. I remember the news photo Mom showed me of the black and white cat that did bear a resemblance to Cookie, with the iconic fair structures in the background. A recent search failed to turn up the same article but I did find this follow-up article from the Danville Bee, Thursday, May 14, 1964, Danville, Virginia, which corroborates the story.

1964 NY World's Fair-May 14 Danville Bee

Have you ever lost a cherished pet?

What is your pet trauma story?

Day 13 of the A-Z Challenge!

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Creative Writing, Family, Good Old Days, memories, Synchronicity and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Missing

  1. melinda says:

    It’s so hard to lose a pet–and yes, we’ve been through it too. When my husband’s first wife passed away in 1999, he was comforted by the companionship of her beloved sheepdog mix, Shasta. Shasta was pretty smart for a sheepdog and had been trained to go to the door and bark once whenever he needed to go outside–we live in a rural area, so he could do this safely and just go in the woods to do his business–and when he was done, he’d come to the door and bark once to be let back in. He was 17 years old when he went to the door at two in the morning one night and barked to go out. (Very unusual for him, in the middle of the night like that.) Hub got up and let him out, and sat on the couch waiting for him to come back–but he never did. We never found him.

  2. Stephen Tremp says:

    Pets are family. Its tough to lose them, especially not knowing what happened to them.

    Stephen Tremp
    A to Z Cohost
    M is for Movies

  3. Your precious cookie did not miss you. Cats usually return home. But every cat is different.

  4. betty says:

    It would be hard to not have a pet come home and wonder what happened to it. I think your mom was kind to perhaps think this could have been your cat 🙂 I never physically lost a pet like this, we had a dog that had gotten out but came a few hours later. We did lose our 10 year old corgi this past December to cancer.

    betty

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

