Nine-One-One

N

 

My Honey and I had never called 9-1-1 before, until one day, when we both had occasion to call, independent of one another.

I was working at the Southworth Library when a patron rushed up to the desk reporting that a man was threatening a woman at the nearby bus stop. I called 911, not wanting to take any chances (I had heard about the incident described in the Tipping Point by Malcolm Gladwell, which he called the “bystander effect,” [http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Bystander_effect] where everyone watched a woman being attacked in New York’s Central Park and no one called for help, assuming “someone else” would do it.

At the same moment, unbeknownst to me, my Honey was on his way home from work and came upon the scene of a motorcycle accident–the motorcyclist had hit a deer. He aided the cyclist and called 911.


Have you ever had to call 911?

To the Rescue

To the Rescue

 Day 14 of the A-Z Challenge!

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Books, Family, memories, Synchronicity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Nine-One-One

  1. betty says:

    I did have to call 911 one time; sadly it involved my daughter who had taken an overdose of pills (she was okay). Hubby has called 911 a few times to report swerving drivers on the road.

    betty

  2. Rosie Amber says:

    Dropping in from the A to Z, I’m in the UK and we call 999. I had to call it in one day on the school run after one of the Mum’s skidded off the road in icy conditions on a lane, Luckily she’s dropped the kids off at school beforehand and she was ok after the hospital check up. I’ve given your blog a shout out on my letter O post https://rosieamber.wordpress.com/

  3. 4wallsnaroof says:

    I have been lucky enough to never have had to call 911, however, when my son was 18 months old he was playing with the phone (without my knowledge) and accidentally dialed 911! I was shocked when I heard the voice on the phone and even more shocked when an officer showed up at our door a few minutes later. He was very polite and understanding, explaining that toddlers often dial the emergency number accidentally but that he had to come in and check the premises anyway to be sure everyone was okay. I was happy to see that we had such quick, efficient 911 response in our town but I kept the phone well out of reach after that!

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

