Writing Update

My writing goal, to be finished by July 3rd (before we left on our LDS Mission), was to complete my personal history. I am happy to report that not only did I finish writing, but I am almost finished with the editing process. I’m now turning it over to my daughter to look at it with fresh eyes and a different perspective, to ensure that nothing I’ve written offends any of my loved ones…My purpose is to leave my children and grandchildren (okay, my posterity…) with a record of my life, with an emphasis on the importance family has and does play in my life as well as the many spiritual experiences I’ve had that affirm to me not only the existence of God, but His ever-watchful eye over me and those I love. I have truly been blessed! Now it’s time for a major payback (although that is never actually possible, as no matter what we do, we are always in God’s debt…) by serving a two-year full-time mission with my husband.

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Creative Writing, Family and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Writing Update

  1. Shah Wharton says:

    Congratulations! I’ve always squirmed at the idea of writing my own bio, but admire those who can.

    shahwharton.com

    • Gail says:

      It’s a bit of a cheat…I had written a basic history of my children through when I got married soon after I got married. Then for the past 40 years I’ve kept a journal. I’ve pulled out relevant journal entries that “move the story along” so to speak, and that highlight important moments. So I guess it is an ongoing history.

  2. Wow, good for you. That’s a great accomplishment. On a side note, my middle name is Gail. You are the first Gail I’ve met who spells it the way I do. 🙂

    • Gail says:

      I didn’t like it spelled that way in high school I spelled it Gayle. But now that I’m a grown up I like it the way Mom intended. Hehe.

      • auntyuta says:

        My parents gave me the German name Ute.
        Having lived in Australia since 1959, I did not like to be called ute. I prefer to be called Uta.

  3. Angeline says:

    Congratulations! It’s great that you can pass on something so personal and important. Who knows, it might be an important historical document someday!

  4. Congrats on achieving your goal! All the best with your mission.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

