The Norfolk Way

Brussels Sprouts Stalk

Brussels Sprouts Stalk

Went to the farm stand this morning for some garlic for pesto and saw this lovely stalk of Brussel sprouts. The vendor told me this is the “Norfolk Way”: they get the whole stalk and set it outside. It lasts for months and you just pull off what you want at the moment (“For instance, ‘I think I’ll have a few in my stew today…'” she says).  I couldn’t resist and walked home with the garlic and the Brussel sprouts (and pears and peaches…)

I’ve always wanted to know about rosehips and how to make rosehip tea and today, as I looked out my kitchen window and saw the rose bush going to seed…I did a bit of research, gathered them up and voila! Rosehip tea and syrup; (discovered that ladybugs like them too!)

a stylish stile

a stylish stile

“There was a crooked man, who went a crooked mile; he found a crooked sixpence against a crooked stile…”

On our visit to Swaffham Prior (which, technically is in Cambridgeshire, not Norfolk at all…) this week we came upon an honest-to-goodness stile!

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Mission and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The Norfolk Way

  1. njmagas says:

    I’m always surprised when I see Brussel sprouts on a stalk. I always assume they grow just like mini cabbages, not like pimply broccoli. Either way they’re delicious.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

