Theme Reveal: Drive like a Brit

Today is Theme Reveal Day!

We are living in England for two years as missionaries for the Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-day Saints. We can drive on our USA license for up to one year, then need to take the British Driving Test to obtain a license here for the second year. We’ve heard the tests (three parts: theory, perception, and road test) are all pretty rigorous, so have been diligently studying any and all materials and mock tests we can get our hands on. I thought I’d share my pain by giving you a glimpse into what is involved. Most of my info is taken from the Official DVSA Guide to Driving: the essential skills by the Driver & Vehicle Standards Agency.

So…as part of the A-Z Blogging Challenge of 2016, here’s the A-Z of the British Guide to Driving! Fasten your seatbelts, it’s a rough road ahead!

IMG_2822

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Mission, Travel and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

77 Responses to Theme Reveal: Drive like a Brit

  1. Miss Andi says:

    Sounds fun! I learned driving in Hungary (right side) then moved to Ireland and slowly adjusted to the left side, now I’m in Spain, back on the right and am absolutely confused lol

  2. I remember learning to drive and my test even though it was a good few years ago now – I was terrified! A most unusual choice for the AtoZ 🙂 Good luck with the challenge.
    Tasha
    Tasha’s Thinkings | Wittegen Press | FB3X (AC)

    • Gail says:

      Well, we write about what is on our minds, and THE TEST is certainly on mine these days. BTW, Husband has just successfully passed his test, so now it’s just me to worry about…

  3. JEN says:

    I’m excited to hear about what it’s like driving in England versus the USA.
    I think it’s wonderful that you are continuing your blog while on your mission! Is it a service mission or proselyting?

    • Gail says:

      Military Relations. As retired military we have ID card allowing us access to the bases and members living on those bases. We are here to support the members in the military. Issues such as having a spouse deployed etc have major impact

  4. What an opportunity you and your family are having. Your theme choice will bring new readers to you in April. I’ll see you then.

  5. Hi, a very intriguing choice of theme. Driving is a key factor in being able to settle into an expat life. You’ll be driving on the ‘wrong’ side of the road, that I suppose adds to the difficulty. Good luck with the driving test and the A-Z!

    Best wishes.
    Nilanjana

  6. Should be interesting. My hubby did the driving when we visited but in the passenger seat I was scared to death. There were so many round-a-bouts too.

  7. randommusings29 says:

    I love the sound of this! I live in the UK and there’s so many rules that just don’t seem necessary! I’m looking forward to getting your take on it all. You are on my “to visit” list 🙂
    Debbie

  8. Deb Hawkins says:

    Sounds like fun! I want to hear about the roundabouts, because they thought it was a great idea to start putting small versions in my state. (They’re HORRIBLE!)

    Thanks for stopping by!

  9. A J says:

    I’m from Malaysia and our driving rules are “inherited” from the Brits so it’ll be interesting to read about your thoughts on this. I have driven in the US and it freaked me out! LOL Looking forward to reading your posts! 😀

  10. stuart127 says:

    Welcome to the UK – home of roundabouts! Im sure it will be a lot of fun!

    • Gail says:

      Thanks! The roundabouts certainly have their place, but it can be a challenge, especially in the larger ones, to “manoeuvre through” them!

  11. Sounds like fun and useful if I ever have a character of mine drive through England.

  12. I know one! Always drive on the left!
    This sounds like a wonderful theme.
    I’ve been to Europe several times, but have never driver there. I shall keep these tips in mind.

  13. This is going to be a fun ride! I used to live in the UK too. In our early years my husband and I traveled everywhere by motorcycle (got drenched more than once, LOL!). Our last trip there a couple of years ago we tried RV-ing for the first time in our lives. Our verdict was if we could survive those narrow lanes and hedgerows in an RV, we’re prepared for anything life can throw at us. Best wishes for a happy April!

  14. What a fun topic! Thanks for visiting my blog! I’ll come back and visit!

  15. You are so brave!!! I love your theme.

  16. We moved to Scotland from the States and I remember getting my UK drivers license. It was so hard to be a middle aged lady, a bit set in her driving ways, having to learn to drive on the other side of the road in a stick shift car. Fortunately, I passed, but probably because the examiner felt a bit sorry for me 🙂

  17. ipsyb says:

    Lovely idea, I will be back! We have visited Britain quite a bit and love driving around there. So this should be interesting. BTW love the name of your blog!

    • Gail says:

      Thanks. I wish I could say I love driving here. Ido but only if it is on a nice country road with no traffic and no potholes and during daylight…

  18. Deb Atwood says:

    Interesting topic. I’m intrigued to see how you work that into A to Z. I lived in London for a year but never got behind the wheel. I loved to sojourn on the subway and train system and managed to roam all over. The thought of driving just scared me, however.

  19. Sounds like fun! Seems like it’s going to be interesting as well. ~Meg
    Writer‘s Crossings

  20. megwrite4life says:

    Sounds like fun! Meg
    Writer‘s Crossings

  21. leannelc says:

    Hi Gail – we’re in Australia and drive on the same side as our UK relatives – I always think it’s strange how Americans do it the other way around – will be following your journey! Leanne from
    cresting the hill

  22. rosemawrites says:

    oooh! This is interesting, Gail, especially for someone like me who cannot–and a bit afraid– to drive! 🙂

  23. Sounds like a fun way to show us your ex-pat home. Looking forward to seeing your posts!

  24. freya3377 says:

    I worked for a UK insurance company for a bit 10 years ago and I remember how tough the process of getting a driving license had seemed. All the best for your license Gail. Looking forward to your A-Z Guide.

    • Gail says:

      So, did you get a license here, or was it not necessary? Any tips are appreciated!

      • freya3377 says:

        I stay just 6 weeks so I didn’t have to get one. But having said it’s difficult I must also add that I was impressed by the detailed process. Here in India, it’s tedious too but not in a good way and it makes for irresponsible drivers.
        So when you get your license be proud, for it came with hard work and really means something! 🙂

  25. I have a feeling your posts are going to be fun to read, definitely coming back to read them. I remember being in the UK and my father and mother fighting over the fact that he was coming out of a driveway on the wrong side and he was fussing about the other driver being on the wrong side coming into the driveway. I can only imagine the rules they may have for the road.

    Peace,
    Morgan Dragonwillow
    Dragonwillow Journeys
    Story Dam

  26. Joy says:

    Haha this is awesome I lived in London for a year and can just imagine the fun you’ll have with this theme. Joy at The Joyous Living

  27. Roslyn Core says:

    I’m looking forward to your thoughts. I lived in the UK for two years, however (coming from Australia) I didn’t have to sit the driving test – just surrender my license. They do have some bizarre road rules though!

    Ros
    Fangirl Stitches – Cross Stitch Alphabets
    Travel like a Geek – A-Z Tour of Harry Potter Film Locations

  28. jmh says:

    It would be awesome if we got a license at the end of the Challenge! 🙂

    I feel your pain. I can barely figure out how to drive here in Canada.

    • Gail says:

      They don’t drive on the left in Canada do they?

    • Gail says:

      Spoiler alert! My husband just did get his license! He passed the practical road test last Tuesday! I hope I get the same examiner he did–I fell he went super easy on him! My test date isn’t until June though…long waiting list. Hubby got in on a cancellation.

  29. Emma says:

    Can’t wait to see your AtoZChallenge, it sounds amazing. As a Brit I wonder how well I’ll do on knowing the rules myself, although I’m let off because my disabilities means I can’t drive any more. I’m blogging blessings at http://llmcalling.blogspot.com and also poems about MS at http://mscalling.blogspot.co.uk/p/a-to-z-of-ms.html

  30. What a fun and interesting theme. The things I was most excited about when deciding to move to Ecuador are they use the U.S. dollar, the time zone is the same, and they drive on the right side of the road. 3 things I thought would make all the other newness of a foreign country more palatable. I have friends currently in Ireland and Scotland we were talking this morning of the driving on the left. I look forward to stopping by, good luck with the challenge.
    @ScarlettBraden from
    Frankly Scarlett

  31. mkmmajean says:

    Looking forward to learning from this one. I did okay driving for a week when in the UK on temporary duty, but I didn’t have time to forget to be diligent.

    Jean (@PolarBear60) from
    Philosophical Meanderings, Too
    Jean’s Master Key Blog

    • Gail says:

      Forgetting to be diligent is a recipe for disaster! It’s fortunate that there are two of us, so whoever rides shotgun can look out for dangers and shout out appropriate warnings, like, “GIVE WAY!!”

  32. Dahlia says:

    What a fun theme – look forward to reading and thanks for dropping by. All the very best!

  33. Cynthia says:

    I look forward to seeing your April posts. It’s always enlightening to see what drivers need to know in different countries.

  34. Gulara says:

    I live in England and have massive resistance to driving. In fact, I refuse to drive. Your posts might convince me to keep it that way OR… 😀 Can’t wait! #atozchallenge participant

  35. Modern Gypsy says:

    Ooh, sounds interesting. All the best!!

    @modern_gypsy from Modern Gypsy

  36. sarahallanauthor says:

    We lived in the UK for 3 years–the driving is definitely an experience. It’s a big deal to have a driver’s license over there, too, and there’s lots of studying involved! I can’t wait to read more. 🙂 Also, now that we’re back in the states, I miss the roundabouts.

  37. joannesisco says:

    What a very interesting theme!! I took my license so many years ago, I’d be rather nervous about getting re-tested at this stage.
    Good luck with the A to Z!! Hope you have lots of fun with it 🙂

  38. We’ll be heading over to England at the end of April for a holiday, so this might just come in handy. 🙂

    We drive on the left in Malaysia too, but we’re not that great at following rules or signs 😛
    That said, I drove in the states with no issues at all!

    anna from blog.annatsp.com

  39. Mars says:

    Sounds like a fun theme!

    Definitely coming back to see what you think of driving in the UK, I’ve at different times driving a pushbike, motorbike, car and a big minibus – all have given me a completely different exerience on the roads.

    Mars xx
    Curling Stones for Lego People

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

