K is for Kickdown

kickdown is a way of achieving quick acceleration when needed by sharply pressing the accelerator pedal right down causing a quick change down to the next lower gear. To return to the higher gear, ease the pressure off the accelerator pedal.

This statement was in the slim section dedicated to automatic transmissions. In a manual transmission, of course, you select the lower gear yourself to achieve a quick acceleration. Although this is mainly used when you want to pass someone quickly, it is counter to the emphasis throughout the Guide for ecosafe driving. Kickdown burns through fuel quickly and is not good for the environment.

2009-02-14 028

Kickdown would not be an option here…

[I needed to add a bit of fun to enliven this otherwise rather dry K-post….]

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Family, Good Old Days, memories, Mission, Travel and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to K is for Kickdown

  1. Mars says:

    The manual equivalent of kickdown is something most bikers learn very early on, as the number of times you get caught out by a driver that just doesn’t see you so you need a speed boost to get you out of the danger zone caused by someone not paying attention.

    Also useful as a car driver when needs must! But yes definitely not good for eco driving!

    p.s. – great choice for K, I had no idea it was called this on an automatic, have only driven an automatic car once… in London, just after the riots, not an experience I’d like to repeat!

    Mars xx
    @TrollbeadBlog from
    Curling Stones for Lego People

    • Gail says:

      I’ve heard others say that about automatics as well (they wouldn’t care to drive them…) but it does make driving “easier.” I admit, driving a manual, or standard shift is more of a driving “experience.”

  2. Beth in IL says:

    Just stopping by from the A to Z challenge

  3. joannesisco says:

    I never heard of the expression Kickdown before. I’m wondering if it’s the same thing as “double clutching” which my dad tried to teach me years ago when I was learning how to drive. I never did master the double-clutch.
    Now I’ll have to go off and do some research. You’ve got me curious!

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

