B is for (My) Bread

“My Bread” is actually not my bread at all, but Jim Lahey’s bread, the author of the book, MY BREAD. I was introduced to this book via my son-in-law, and all it took was one loaf to make this MY bread as well as Jim’s. Virtually foolproof and amazingly delicious in it’s simplicity, (only 4 ingredients), this bread does require forethought: it takes 17-24 hours to achieve a finished product.

I’d make it periodically for our family, but when we got to England to serve our mission, we ramped up production and made it a staple of many of our visits to the families on our list. (It was especially good at opening doors that had otherwise been closed to us!)

After a while, when I noticed that the four ingredients were also mentioned in the scriptures, I created a handout for a mini-lesson to accompany our offering. It went something like this:

Our Bread:

And Jesus said unto them, I am the Bread of Life: he that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst. John 6:35

Flour: All grain is ordained for the use of man and of beasts, to be the staff of life D&C 89:14

Yeast: A little leaven leaveneth the whole lump. Be an influence for good to raise up those around you. Galatians 5:9

Salt: When men are called unto mine everlasting gospel, and covenant with an everlasting covenant, they are accounted as the salt of the earth and the savor of men. D&C 101:39

Water: But unto him that keepeth my commandments I will give the mysteries of my kingdom, and the same shall be in him a well of living water, springing up unto everlasting life.  D&C 63:23

If you are interested in trying it out, let me know!

 

Total investment: Each loaf costs around $1.00 to make, but I did purchase a ceramic dutch oven specifically to make this bread, for an investment cost of $70.00

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Books, Health & Wellness and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to B is for (My) Bread

  1. Margaret Beus says:

    That looks fascinating, Gail. I would love to have the recipe. And thanks for your messages.

  2. Cooper says:

    I tried making this bread, and it’s not that hard when you are coached by an expert.

    • Gail says:

      It seems complicated but you’re right, it’s actually quite easy. My husband does it on his own now after a few coaching sessions

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

