N is for Neti Pot

Learned about the Neti pot from a co-worker about two years ago when I was suffering from an upper-respiratory infection. It’s a bit disconcerting to use for the first time and I made a few mistakes but soon got it down and it was an effective tool in relieving my swollen and clogged sinuses. As my purchase was relatively new when we headed to England, I took it with me. It came in handy twice in the 14 months we were there, and again more recently I used it for a couple weeks during another bout of a respiratory virus.

It’s pretty ingenious and simple in design, yet very effective. A part of Eastern Ayurvedic medicine for thousands of years, it is relatively new to Western culture. A simple precaution: Use as directed, especially with distilled (sterile) water.  It’s one of those easy remedies that many overlook or don’t try because it seems too strange or weird to them.

A bit of synchronicity: As I don’t use the neti pot regularly, I thought it was interesting that in the middle of using it for this most recent infection, I got a call from my daughter asking if I used one and could she have some information about it to give to a friend of hers.

Total Investment: about $10 for the neti pot, another $10 for a bag of salt.

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Health & Wellness, Synchronicity and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to N is for Neti Pot

  1. Kaye Draper says:

    I found great relief using a neti pot when I’ve had bad allergies or dried out sinuses. It also works really well when you have congestion in your sinus that won’t budge…if you know what I mean (eeew…). I’m cheap though 🙂 So I grab a paper cup and squeeze it enough to provide a lip for pouring.
    Isn’t it amazing how well some of the older remedies work?! And here I was before I tried this, using medications for sinus issues. Bleh.

    Good luck with the rest of the A to Z.

    Never give up!

    • Gail says:

      Are you a New England Yankee??? That use of the paper cup is awesome– I wished I’d thought of it! Very frugal and ingenious. Thanks for visiting.

  2. eejaygee says:

    These are great. I started using the idea after watching an Oprah episode some years ago where Dr Oz recommended the process for sinus problems. I use one of those water bottles that have a squirt nozzle. Works a treat.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

