W is for (chi) Walking

Towards the end of 2013 I picked up a book at the library called Chi Walking by Danny Dreyer. I tried it out and was amazed at how much faster and easier I was able to walk! It took some time to consciously align my body to the posture of chi walking but after awhile it seems to come more naturally.

I tend to chi walk more when I am alone, as I do walk faster that way, and my companion tends to walk slower than my “regular” gait as it is.

Chi Walking is mindful walking. I like it because it is low-impact, yet highly aerobic. It engages the core so I feel like I am getting a much more complete workout from my walk.

Total investment: $0 (It was a library book!)

Still doing it? Check!

img_3161

I advocate any kind of walking, chi or otherwise!

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Synchronicity. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to W is for (chi) Walking

  1. brandolyn says:

    Interesting. I’ll have to look that up. I’ve never heard of Chi walking.

  2. That is so cool! I’m going to have to google it or check the public library.
    Perspectives at Life & Faith in Caneyhead

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

