Dodoheads

D

 

The Dodo, an extinct flightless bird that was endemic to the island of Mauritius (Wikipedia)

You get cut off in traffic, or someone is riding your bumper, or you have a parking place “stolen” by an inconsiderate driver…what do you do? Swear? Get angry? Gesture? In an effort to be more civilized and less stressed, Husband and I just chalk it up to the driver being a “dodo-head.” That is our derogatory euphemism of choice. It makes us smile and feel a bit superior instead of getting red-faced and angry. Although, it is a bit ironic that the Dodo is supposed to be extinct and yet, there seems to be a growing number of “dodoheads” that I encounter…


How do you react when frustrated?  What are your coping mechanisms?

Dodo from Alice in Wonderland

Dodo from  the 2010 film, Alice in Wonderland

Day 4 of the A-Z Challenge!

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in A-Z Challenge, Health & Wellness and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Dodoheads

  1. I love that, I think I will adopt it:-)

  2. Donna says:

    Hahahahahahaha oh my goodness! YES INDEED the dodos are all over the place! I just had a sighting yesterday. When I go out later I am SURE to find at least one. I don’t think they are extinct at all……..I think their numbers have reached epidemic proportions!!!!! Hahahahahaha thank you for such a wonderful post. I needed that laugh 🙂

  3. I agree…and increasing amount of deadheads, particularly in Washington, making decisions that are changing the America we know and love. I shall use your designation from now on rather than yell at the news. 🙂 Thanks for the laugh and short, highly readable post. A lot of work you have done well.

  4. Forget deadheads, the spell check messed me up. I wrote dodo heads.

  5. In my 45-60 minute commute to and fro each day, I tend to growl to myself and then I pray for them. That God wake them up and slow them down or whatever be necessary to get them where they are going safely without harming anyone else. When someone follows me too closely, I let them see my big bright brake lights repeatedly until they get the message and back off or move over to the other (inside) fast lane. Life & Faith in Caneyhead
    I am Ensign B ~ One of Tremp’s Troops with the
    A to Z Challenge

  6. My word for those people isn’t nearly as nice. (When it comes to driving, that’s the one place I stumble.) I’ll try to remember Dodoheads.

  7. Nancy says:

    I like that! I use similar somewhat innocuous words, anything that makes me smile or laugh, so the sillier the word the better.

  8. Nadine says:

    Oh, well, I cuss and swear. Sometimes I give the one-fingered salute. I’m not proud, but oh, well. I do like “dodohead,” though. I may adopt it.

  9. Ha! That’s a good expressio. I may need to borrow it. 🙂

    Yvonne

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

