A week of tender mercies

President Henry B. Eyring

President Henry B. Eyring

“I wrote down a few lines every day for years. Before I would write, I would ponder this question: ‘Have I seen the hand of God reaching out to touch our  family today?’ As I kept at it, something began to happen.  As I would cast my mind over the day, I would see evidence of what God had done for one of our family members that I had not recognized in the busy moments of the day.  As that happened, I realized that trying to remember had allowed God to show me what He had done. “More than gratitude    began to grow in my heart; testimony grew. I  became ever more certain that our Heavenly Father hears and answers  prayers. I felt more gratitude for the Atonement of the Savior Jesus Christ. I grew more confident that the Holy Ghost can bring all things to our remembrance—even things we did not notice or pay attention to when they happened.” (“O Remember, Remember,” Ensign or Liahona, Nov. 2007,67).

In the spirit of Pres. Eyring’s example, and the example of Vernette’s Seven for Seven, here are my seven “God-winks” from the past week:

  1. Asked my daughter for help and ended up helping her by giving her a chance to find her lost keys before she would have REALLY needed them and disaster ensued.
  2. Read a “random” article in a magazine that was the perfect example to illustrate a point in a class I am teaching next week.
  3. Was home sick and woke immediately at the exact moment I needed to call in to work before I would be “late.”
  4. Found the perfect storage containers at the precise moment when I needed to replace them.
  5. My daughter’s car battery died and in the process of fixing it, was given information that saved her many hundreds of dollars on a needless repair.
  6. Was in the right place at the right time to help a friend when she was in need.
  7. “Randomly” decided to bring in muffins to my early morning class on a day when one student hadn’t been able to get breakfast before coming. She ate 4 muffins!
About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Family, Half-full, Serendipity, Spirituality, Synchronicity and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to A week of tender mercies

  1. gapark says:

    I love to see young women with hearty appetites!

  2. Sammy D. says:

    These are all examples of mindfulness, and that’s what makes days (even sick ones) count.

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

