Joy to the World

prism

This weekend I found myself in a quiet, beautiful place, and was there for quite awhile with no one around, so I decided to take advantage of the circumstances and meditate. I focused on a swirl in the marble baseboard across from me and picked my mantra of The Joy that He Brings from the Christmas Canon by the Trans-Siberian Orchestra. As I was focusing on my breathing, I glanced up and away from the baseboard a moment and my eye caught the dazzling, colorful light of the chandelier directly above my head. I thought of President Monson’s advice to the man in the elevator: “It’s better to look up!” Yes, indeed. I redirected my focus to the light and instantly realized the symbolism of looking to the Light and seeing life in a more colorful, enhanced way. The Light truly does bring joy! As soon as I had the chance, I looked up Joy in my Bible Topical Guide and found more than enough to use for the 25 boxes in my advent calendar–each one will contain a scripture reference to Joy. I’ve included my choices below.

[Key to the books referenced: Isaiah, Psalms = Old Testament; Luke, John, Peter, 3 John = New Testament, both in KJV; Nephi, Mosiah, Alma all from the Book of Mormon, which can be found here; D&C = Doctrine and Covenants, found here]

Joy in Scripture

Psalms 16:11 Thou wilt shew me the path of life: in thy presence is fulness of joy; at thy right hand there are pleasures for evermore.

Psalms 32:11 Be glad in the Lord, and rejoice, ye righteous: and shout for joy, all ye that are upright in heart.

Isaiah 12:2 Behold, God is my salvation; I will trust, and not be afraid: for the Lord JEHOVAH is my strength and my song; he also is become my salvation. 3 Therefore with joy shall ye draw water out of the wells of salvation. 4 And in that day shall ye say, Praise the Lord, call upon his name, declare his doings among the people, make mention that his name is exalted. 5 Sing unto the Lord; for he hath done excellent things: this is known in all the earth.

Isaiah 51:11 Therefore the redeemed of the Lord shall return, and come with singing unto Zion; and everlasting joy shall be upon their head: they shall obtain gladness and joy; and sorrow and mourning shall flee away.

Isaiah 52: 9 Break forth into joy, sing together, ye waste places of Jerusalem: for the Lord hath comforted his people, he hath redeemed Jerusalem.10 The Lord hath made bare his holy arm in the eyes of all the nations; and all the ends of the earth shall see the salvation of our God.

Luke 2:10 And the angel said unto them, Fear not: for, behold, I bring you good tidings of great joy, which shall be to all people. 11 For unto you is born this day in the city of David a Saviour, which is Christ the Lord.

John 15:10 If ye keep my commandments, ye shall abide in my love; even as I have kept my Father’s commandments, and abide in his love. 11 These things have I spoken unto you, that my joy might remain in you, and that your joy might be full.

John 14: 17 For the kingdom of God is not meat and drink; but righteousness, and peace, and joy in the Holy Ghost.

1 Peter 12 Beloved, think it not strange concerning the fiery trial, which is to try you, as though some strange thing happened unto you; 13 But rejoice, inasmuch as ye are partakers of Christ’s sufferings; that, when his glory shall be revealed, ye may be glad also with exceeding joy.

3 John 4 I have no greater joy than to hear that my children walk in truth.

1 Nephi 13:37 And blessed are they who shall seek to bring forth my Zion at that day, for they shall have the gift and the power of the Holy Ghost; and if they endure unto the end they shall be lifted up at the last day, and shall be saved in the everlasting kingdom of the Lamb; and whoso shall publish peace, yea, tidings of great joy, how beautiful upon the mountains shall they be.

2 Nephi 2:25 Adam fell that men might be; and men care, that they might have joy.

2 Nephi:18 But, behold, the righteous, the saints of the Holy One of Israel, they who have believed in the Holy One of Israel, they who have endured the crosses of the world, and despised the shame of it, they shall inherit the kingdom of God, which was prepared for them from the foundation of the world, and their joy shall be full forever.

Mosiah 4:20 And behold, even at this time, ye have been calling on his name, and begging for a remission of your sins. And has he suffered that ye have begged in vain? Nay; he has poured out his Spirit upon you, and has caused that your hearts should be filled with joy, and has caused that your mouths should be stopped that ye could not find utterance, so exceedingly great was your joy

Mosiah 3: 2 And the angel said unto me: Awake, and hear the words which I shall tell thee; for behold, I am come to declare unto you the glad tidings of great joy. 4 For the Lord hath heard thy prayers, and hath judged of thy righteousness, and hath sent me to declare unto thee that thou mayest rejoice; and that thou mayest declare unto thy people, that they may also be filled with joy. 5 For behold, the time cometh, and is not far distant, that with power, the Lord Omnipotent who reigneth, who was, and is from all eternity to all eternity, shall come down from heaven among the children of men, and shall dwell in a tabernacle of clay, and shall go forth amongst men, working mighty miracles, such as healing the sick, raising the dead, causing the lame to walk, the blind to receive their sight, and the deaf to hear, and curing all manner of diseases.6 And he shall cast out devils, or the evil spirits which dwell in the hearts of the children of men.7 And lo, he shall suffer temptations, and pain of body, hunger, thirst, and fatigue, even more than man can suffer, except it be unto death; for behold, blood cometh from every pore, so great shall be his anguish for the wickedness and the abominations of his people.8 And he shall be called Jesus Christ, the Son of God, the Father of heaven and earth, the Creator of all things from the beginning; and his mother shall be called Mary. 9 And lo, he cometh that salvation might come unto the children of men even through faith on his name.

Alma 19:6 … and the light which did light up his mind, which was the light of the glory of God, which was a marvelous light of his goodness—yea, this light had infused such joy into his soul, the cloud of darkness having been dispelled, and the light of everlasting life was lit up in his soul

Alma 36:19 And now, behold, when I thought on the Atonement of Jesus Christ, I could remember my pains no more; yea, I was harrowed up by the memory of my sins no more. 20 And oh, what joy, and what marvelous light I did behold; yea, my soul was filled with joy as exceeding as was my pain! 21 Yea, there could be nothing so exquisite and so bitter as were my pains. Yea, and on the other hand, there can be nothing so exquisite and sweet as was my joy.

D&C 11: 13 Verily, verily, I say unto you, I will impart unto you of my Spirit, which shall enlighten your mind, which shall fill your soul with joy;

D&C 18:15 And if it so be that you should labor all your days in crying repentance unto this people, and bring, save it be one soul unto me, how great shall be your joy with him in the kingdom of my Father!16 And now, if your joy will be great with one soul that you have brought unto me into the kingdom of my Father, how great will be your joy if you should  bring many souls unto me!

D&C 19:38 Pray always, and I will pour out my Spirit upon you, and great shall be your blessing—yea, even more than if you should obtain treasures of earth and corruptibleness to the extent thereof. 39 Behold, canst thou read this without rejoicing and lifting up thy heart for gladness?

D&C 42:61 If thou shalt ask, thou shalt receive revelation upon revelation, knowledge upon knowledge, that thou mayest know the mysteries and peaceable things—that which bringeth joy, that which bringeth life eternal.

D&C 59:13 And on this day thou shalt do none other thing, only let thy food be prepared with singleness of heart that thy fasting may be perfect, or, in other words, that thy joy may be full.

D&C 101:36 Wherefore, fear not even unto death; for in this world your joy is not full, but in me your joy is full.

D&C 128:19 Now, what do we hear in the gospel which we have received? A voice of gladness! A voice of mercy from heaven; and a voice of truth out of the earth; glad tidings for the dead; a voice of gladness for the living and the dead; glad tidings of great joy. How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of those that bring glad tidings of good things, and that say unto Zion: Behold, thy God reigneth! As the dews of Carmel, so shall the knowledge of God descend upon them!

D&C 138:17 Their sleeping dust was to be restored unto its perfect frame, bone to his bone, and the sinews and the flesh upon them, the spirit and the body to be united never again to be divided, that they might receive a fulness of joy.

About Gail

Genealogist, librarian, traveler, runner, grandma, Mormon, Missionary
This entry was posted in Books, Favorites, Serendipity, Spirituality, Synchronicity and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Joy to the World

  1. Pingback: Psalm 30:5 Weeping May Endure For A Night, But Joy Cometh In The Morning. Joy In Sorrow. | GodLovesBummyla

  2. seeker says:

    Wow, there is so much to spread around from the Bible. Awesome. Joy to you.

  3. Beautiful scriptures all. The ones that spoke to me today, however, are 1Peter 12 and Alma 36: 19-21. I’m on quite the “exquisite” roller coaster ride right now as I heal. I’m looking forward to some balance soon. 😉 … Lovely post. I always prefer to look up. … Be well, Dorothy 🙂

  4. Pingback: “And on this … | Making Life an Art

I'd love to hear your thoughts! Let's chat!

